lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2022]   [Jun]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH RESEND] sched/core: Use try_cmpxchg in set_nr_{and_not,if}_polling
Date
Use try_cmpxchg instead of cmpxchg (*ptr, old, new) != old in
set_nr_{and_not,if}_polling. x86 cmpxchg returns success in ZF flag,
so this change saves a compare after cmpxchg.

The definition of cmpxchg based fetch_or was changed in the
same way as atomic_fetch_##op definitions were changed
in e6790e4b5d5e97dc287f3496dd2cf2dbabdfdb35.

Also declare these two functions as inline to ensure inlining. In the
case of set_nr_and_not_polling, the compiler (gcc) tries to outsmart
itself by constructing the boolean return value with logic operations
on the fetched value, and these extra operations enlarge the function
over the inlining threshold value.

Signed-off-by: Uros Bizjak <ubizjak@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>
Cc: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>
Cc: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Ben Segall <bsegall@google.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Daniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@redhat.com>
Cc: Christian Brauner <brauner@kernel.org>
---
kernel/sched/core.c | 24 +++++++++---------------
1 file changed, 9 insertions(+), 15 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/sched/core.c b/kernel/sched/core.c
index da0bf6fe9ecd..88806e9110b7 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/core.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/core.c
@@ -873,15 +873,11 @@ static inline void hrtick_rq_init(struct rq *rq)
({ \
typeof(ptr) _ptr = (ptr); \
typeof(mask) _mask = (mask); \
- typeof(*_ptr) _old, _val = *_ptr; \
+ typeof(*_ptr) _val = *_ptr; \
\
- for (;;) { \
- _old = cmpxchg(_ptr, _val, _val | _mask); \
- if (_old == _val) \
- break; \
- _val = _old; \
- } \
- _old; \
+ do { \
+ } while (!try_cmpxchg(_ptr, &_val, _val | _mask)); \
+ _val; \
})

#if defined(CONFIG_SMP) && defined(TIF_POLLING_NRFLAG)
@@ -890,7 +886,7 @@ static inline void hrtick_rq_init(struct rq *rq)
* this avoids any races wrt polling state changes and thereby avoids
* spurious IPIs.
*/
-static bool set_nr_and_not_polling(struct task_struct *p)
+static inline bool set_nr_and_not_polling(struct task_struct *p)
{
struct thread_info *ti = task_thread_info(p);
return !(fetch_or(&ti->flags, _TIF_NEED_RESCHED) & _TIF_POLLING_NRFLAG);
@@ -905,30 +901,28 @@ static bool set_nr_and_not_polling(struct task_struct *p)
static bool set_nr_if_polling(struct task_struct *p)
{
struct thread_info *ti = task_thread_info(p);
- typeof(ti->flags) old, val = READ_ONCE(ti->flags);
+ typeof(ti->flags) val = READ_ONCE(ti->flags);

for (;;) {
if (!(val & _TIF_POLLING_NRFLAG))
return false;
if (val & _TIF_NEED_RESCHED)
return true;
- old = cmpxchg(&ti->flags, val, val | _TIF_NEED_RESCHED);
- if (old == val)
+ if (try_cmpxchg(&ti->flags, &val, val | _TIF_NEED_RESCHED))
break;
- val = old;
}
return true;
}

#else
-static bool set_nr_and_not_polling(struct task_struct *p)
+static inline bool set_nr_and_not_polling(struct task_struct *p)
{
set_tsk_need_resched(p);
return true;
}

#ifdef CONFIG_SMP
-static bool set_nr_if_polling(struct task_struct *p)
+static inline bool set_nr_if_polling(struct task_struct *p)
{
return false;
}
--
2.35.3
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2022-06-29 17:19    [W:0.045 / U:0.216 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site