lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2022]   [Jun]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH v5 2/5] dt-bindings: clock: Add AST2500/AST2600 HACE reset definition
Date
> On 29/06/2022 09:59, Neal Liu wrote:
> >> -----Original Message-----
> >> From: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@linaro.org>
> >> Sent: Wednesday, June 29, 2022 1:58 PM
> >> To: Neal Liu <neal_liu@aspeedtech.com>; Corentin Labbe
> >> <clabbe.montjoie@gmail.com>; Christophe JAILLET
> >> <christophe.jaillet@wanadoo.fr>; Randy Dunlap
> >> <rdunlap@infradead.org>; Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>;
> >> David S . Miller <davem@davemloft.net>; Rob Herring
> >> <robh+dt@kernel.org>; Krzysztof Kozlowski
> >> <krzysztof.kozlowski+dt@linaro.org>; Joel Stanley <joel@jms.id.au>;
> >> Andrew Jeffery <andrew@aj.id.au>; Dhananjay Phadke
> >> <dhphadke@microsoft.com>; Johnny Huang
> <johnny_huang@aspeedtech.com>
> >> Cc: linux-aspeed@lists.ozlabs.org; linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org;
> >> devicetree@vger.kernel.org; linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org;
> >> linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org; BMC-SW <BMC-SW@aspeedtech.com>
> >> Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 2/5] dt-bindings: clock: Add AST2500/AST2600
> >> HACE reset definition
> >>
> >> On 29/06/2022 05:20, Neal Liu wrote:
> >>> Add HACE reset bit definition for AST2500/AST2600.
> >>>
> >>> Signed-off-by: Neal Liu <neal_liu@aspeedtech.com>
> >>> Signed-off-by: Johnny Huang <johnny_huang@aspeedtech.com>
> >>> Acked-by: Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzysztof.kozlowski@linaro.org>
> >>> ---
> >>> include/dt-bindings/clock/aspeed-clock.h | 3 ++-
> >>> include/dt-bindings/clock/ast2600-clock.h | 1 +
> >>> 2 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
> >>>
> >>> diff --git a/include/dt-bindings/clock/aspeed-clock.h
> >>> b/include/dt-bindings/clock/aspeed-clock.h
> >>> index 9ff4f6e4558c..6e040f7c3426 100644
> >>> --- a/include/dt-bindings/clock/aspeed-clock.h
> >>> +++ b/include/dt-bindings/clock/aspeed-clock.h
> >>> @@ -46,11 +46,12 @@
> >>> #define ASPEED_RESET_MCTP 1
> >>> #define ASPEED_RESET_ADC 2
> >>> #define ASPEED_RESET_JTAG_MASTER 3
> >>> -#define ASPEED_RESET_MIC 4
> >>> +#define ASPEED_RESET_HACE 4
> >>
> >> I did not ack such change. This is a significant change from previous
> >> version, invalidating my previous ack.
> >>
> >> This breaks the ABI, so NAK without proper explanation why ABI break
> >> is accepted.
> >
> > I changed the original define (MIC) into different value (see below diff), and
> add a new define for HACE.
> > How does that break the ABI? I'll be appreciated if you can explain it more
> details.
> > And sorry for not remove ack with new change.
>
> Yes, this breaks ABI. Previously the ASPEED_RESET_MIC define had value of 4,
> now it has value of something else.

Got your point. I'll re-define HACE without modifying ABI.
Thanks for your suggestion.

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2022-06-29 10:51    [W:0.075 / U:0.496 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site