lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2022]   [Mar]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v3] topology: make core_mask include at least cluster_siblings
On Fri, Mar 04, 2022 at 09:01:36AM -0800, Darren Hart wrote:
> Ampere Altra defines CPU clusters in the ACPI PPTT. They share a Snoop
> Control Unit, but have no shared CPU-side last level cache.
>
> cpu_coregroup_mask() will return a cpumask with weight 1, while
> cpu_clustergroup_mask() will return a cpumask with weight 2.
>
> As a result, build_sched_domain() will BUG() once per CPU with:
>
> BUG: arch topology borken
> the CLS domain not a subset of the MC domain
>
> The MC level cpumask is then extended to that of the CLS child, and is
> later removed entirely as redundant. This sched domain topology is an
> improvement over previous topologies, or those built without
> SCHED_CLUSTER, particularly for certain latency sensitive workloads.
> With the current scheduler model and heuristics, this is a desirable
> default topology for Ampere Altra and Altra Max system.
>
> Rather than create a custom sched domains topology structure and
> introduce new logic in arch/arm64 to detect these systems, update the
> core_mask so coregroup is never a subset of clustergroup, extending it
> to cluster_siblings if necessary.
>
> This has the added benefit over a custom topology of working for both
> symmetric and asymmetric topologies. It does not address systems where
> the cluster topology is above a populated mc topology, but these are not
> considered today and can be addressed separately if and when they
> appear.
>
> The final sched domain topology for a 2 socket Ampere Altra system is
> unchanged with or without CONFIG_SCHED_CLUSTER, and the BUG is avoided:
>
> For CPU0:
>
> CONFIG_SCHED_CLUSTER=y
> CLS [0-1]
> DIE [0-79]
> NUMA [0-159]
>
> CONFIG_SCHED_CLUSTER is not set
> DIE [0-79]
> NUMA [0-159]
>
> Cc: Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@arm.com>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>
> Cc: Barry Song <song.bao.hua@hisilicon.com>
> Cc: Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@arm.com>
> Cc: D. Scott Phillips <scott@os.amperecomputing.com>
> Cc: Ilkka Koskinen <ilkka@os.amperecomputing.com>
> Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> # 5.16.x
> Suggested-by: Barry Song <song.bao.hua@hisilicon.com>
> Signed-off-by: Darren Hart <darren@os.amperecomputing.com>
> ---
> v1: Drop MC level if coregroup weight == 1
> v2: New sd topo in arch/arm64/kernel/smp.c
> v3: No new topo, extend core_mask to cluster_siblings
>
> drivers/base/arch_topology.c | 8 ++++++++
> 1 file changed, 8 insertions(+)
>
> diff --git a/drivers/base/arch_topology.c b/drivers/base/arch_topology.c
> index 976154140f0b..a96f45db928b 100644
> --- a/drivers/base/arch_topology.c
> +++ b/drivers/base/arch_topology.c
> @@ -628,6 +628,14 @@ const struct cpumask *cpu_coregroup_mask(int cpu)
> core_mask = &cpu_topology[cpu].llc_sibling;
> }
>
> + /*
> + * For systems with no shared cpu-side LLC but with clusters defined,
> + * extend core_mask to cluster_siblings. The sched domain builder will
> + * then remove MC as redundant with CLS if SCHED_CLUSTER is enabled.
> + */
> + if (cpumask_subset(core_mask, &cpu_topology[cpu].cluster_sibling))
> + core_mask = &cpu_topology[cpu].cluster_sibling;
> +

Sudeep, Vincent, are you happy with this now?

Will

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2022-03-08 11:31    [W:0.142 / U:0.076 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site