lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2022]   [Mar]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Date
SubjectRe: [PATCH v2] mm/page_alloc: call check_new_pages() while zone spinlock is not held
On Mon, Mar 7, 2022 at 1:15 AM Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net> wrote:
>
> On Fri, Mar 04, 2022 at 09:02:15AM -0800, Eric Dumazet wrote:
> > From: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>
> >
> > For high order pages not using pcp, rmqueue() is currently calling
> > the costly check_new_pages() while zone spinlock is held,
> > and hard irqs masked.
> >
> > This is not needed, we can release the spinlock sooner to reduce
> > zone spinlock contention.
> >
> > Note that after this patch, we call __mod_zone_freepage_state()
> > before deciding to leak the page because it is in bad state.
> >
> > v2: We need to keep interrupts disabled to call __mod_zone_freepage_state()
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>
> > Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
> > Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
> > Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
> > Cc: Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com>
> > Cc: Wei Xu <weixugc@google.com>
> > Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com>
> > Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
> > Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
>
> Ok, this is only more expensive in the event pages on the free list have
> been corrupted whch is already very unlikely so thanks!
>
> Acked-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
>

One remaining question is:

After your patch ("mm/page_alloc: allow high-order pages to be stored
on the per-cpu lists"),
do we want to change check_pcp_refill()/check_new_pcp() to check all pages,
and not only the head ?

Or was it a conscious choice of yours ?
(I presume part of the performance gains came from
not having to bring ~7 cache lines per 32KB chunk on x86)

Thanks !

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2022-03-09 02:08    [W:0.502 / U:0.020 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site