lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2022]   [Mar]   [7]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5.15 261/262] proc: fix documentation and description of pagemap
Date
From: Yun Zhou <yun.zhou@windriver.com>

commit dd21bfa425c098b95ca86845f8e7d1ec1ddf6e4a upstream.

Since bit 57 was exported for uffd-wp write-protected (commit
fb8e37f35a2f: "mm/pagemap: export uffd-wp protection information"),
fixing it can reduce some unnecessary confusion.

Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20220301044538.3042713-1-yun.zhou@windriver.com
Fixes: fb8e37f35a2fe1 ("mm/pagemap: export uffd-wp protection information")
Signed-off-by: Yun Zhou <yun.zhou@windriver.com>
Reviewed-by: Peter Xu <peterx@redhat.com>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Tiberiu A Georgescu <tiberiu.georgescu@nutanix.com>
Cc: Florian Schmidt <florian.schmidt@nutanix.com>
Cc: Ivan Teterevkov <ivan.teterevkov@nutanix.com>
Cc: SeongJae Park <sj@kernel.org>
Cc: Yang Shi <shy828301@gmail.com>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Axel Rasmussen <axelrasmussen@google.com>
Cc: Miaohe Lin <linmiaohe@huawei.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Colin Cross <ccross@google.com>
Cc: Alistair Popple <apopple@nvidia.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
Documentation/admin-guide/mm/pagemap.rst | 2 +-
fs/proc/task_mmu.c | 3 ++-
2 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

--- a/Documentation/admin-guide/mm/pagemap.rst
+++ b/Documentation/admin-guide/mm/pagemap.rst
@@ -23,7 +23,7 @@ There are four components to pagemap:
* Bit 56 page exclusively mapped (since 4.2)
* Bit 57 pte is uffd-wp write-protected (since 5.13) (see
:ref:`Documentation/admin-guide/mm/userfaultfd.rst <userfaultfd>`)
- * Bits 57-60 zero
+ * Bits 58-60 zero
* Bit 61 page is file-page or shared-anon (since 3.5)
* Bit 62 page swapped
* Bit 63 page present
--- a/fs/proc/task_mmu.c
+++ b/fs/proc/task_mmu.c
@@ -1582,7 +1582,8 @@ static const struct mm_walk_ops pagemap_
* Bits 5-54 swap offset if swapped
* Bit 55 pte is soft-dirty (see Documentation/admin-guide/mm/soft-dirty.rst)
* Bit 56 page exclusively mapped
- * Bits 57-60 zero
+ * Bit 57 pte is uffd-wp write-protected
+ * Bits 58-60 zero
* Bit 61 page is file-page or shared-anon
* Bit 62 page swapped
* Bit 63 page present

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2022-03-07 11:21    [W:0.877 / U:0.144 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site