lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2022]   [Mar]   [7]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH] kgdboc: fix return value of __setup handler
Date
__setup() handlers should return 1 to indicate that the boot option
has been handled. A return of 0 causes the boot option/value to be
listed as an Unknown kernel parameter and added to init's (limited)
environment strings. So return 1 from kgdboc_option_setup().

Unknown kernel command line parameters "BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/bzImage-517rc7
kgdboc=kbd kgdbts=", will be passed to user space.

Run /sbin/init as init process
with arguments:
/sbin/init
with environment:
HOME=/
TERM=linux
BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/bzImage-517rc7
kgdboc=kbd
kgdbts=

Fixes: 1cd25cbb2fed ("kgdboc: Fix warning with module build")
Signed-off-by: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
Reported-by: Igor Zhbanov <i.zhbanov@omprussia.ru>
Link: lore.kernel.org/r/64644a2f-4a20-bab3-1e15-3b2cdd0defe3@omprussia.ru
Cc: Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Jiri Slaby <jirislaby@kernel.org>
Cc: kgdb-bugreport@lists.sourceforge.net
Cc: Jason Wessel <jason.wessel@windriver.com>
Cc: Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org>
Cc: Douglas Anderson <dianders@chromium.org>
Cc: linux-serial@vger.kernel.org
---
drivers/tty/serial/kgdboc.c | 6 +++---
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

--- lnx-517-rc7.orig/drivers/tty/serial/kgdboc.c
+++ lnx-517-rc7/drivers/tty/serial/kgdboc.c
@@ -403,16 +403,16 @@ static int kgdboc_option_setup(char *opt
{
if (!opt) {
pr_err("config string not provided\n");
- return -EINVAL;
+ return 1;
}

if (strlen(opt) >= MAX_CONFIG_LEN) {
pr_err("config string too long\n");
- return -ENOSPC;
+ return 1;
}
strcpy(config, opt);

- return 0;
+ return 1;
}

__setup("kgdboc=", kgdboc_option_setup);
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2022-03-08 04:33    [W:0.059 / U:0.832 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site