lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2022]   [Jan]   [24]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5.10 508/563] perf evsel: Override attr->sample_period for non-libpfm4 events
Date
From: German Gomez <german.gomez@arm.com>

commit 3606c0e1a1050d397ad759a62607e419fd8b0ccb upstream.

A previous patch preventing "attr->sample_period" values from being
overridden in pfm events changed a related behaviour in arm-spe.

Before said patch:

perf record -c 10000 -e arm_spe_0// -- sleep 1

Would yield an SPE event with period=10000. After the patch, the period
in "-c 10000" was being ignored because the arm-spe code initializes
sample_period to a non-zero value.

This patch restores the previous behaviour for non-libpfm4 events.

Fixes: ae5dcc8abe31 (“perf record: Prevent override of attr->sample_period for libpfm4 events”)
Reported-by: Chase Conklin <chase.conklin@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: German Gomez <german.gomez@arm.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: John Fastabend <john.fastabend@gmail.com>
Cc: KP Singh <kpsingh@kernel.org>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@fb.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Song Liu <songliubraving@fb.com>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Yonghong Song <yhs@fb.com>
Cc: bpf@vger.kernel.org
Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org
Link: http://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20220118144054.2541-1-german.gomez@arm.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
tools/perf/util/evsel.c | 25 +++++++++++++++++--------
1 file changed, 17 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)

--- a/tools/perf/util/evsel.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/evsel.c
@@ -1014,6 +1014,17 @@ struct evsel_config_term *__evsel__get_c
return found_term;
}

+static void evsel__set_default_freq_period(struct record_opts *opts,
+ struct perf_event_attr *attr)
+{
+ if (opts->freq) {
+ attr->freq = 1;
+ attr->sample_freq = opts->freq;
+ } else {
+ attr->sample_period = opts->default_interval;
+ }
+}
+
/*
* The enable_on_exec/disabled value strategy:
*
@@ -1080,14 +1091,12 @@ void evsel__config(struct evsel *evsel,
* We default some events to have a default interval. But keep
* it a weak assumption overridable by the user.
*/
- if (!attr->sample_period) {
- if (opts->freq) {
- attr->freq = 1;
- attr->sample_freq = opts->freq;
- } else {
- attr->sample_period = opts->default_interval;
- }
- }
+ if ((evsel->is_libpfm_event && !attr->sample_period) ||
+ (!evsel->is_libpfm_event && (!attr->sample_period ||
+ opts->user_freq != UINT_MAX ||
+ opts->user_interval != ULLONG_MAX)))
+ evsel__set_default_freq_period(opts, attr);
+
/*
* If attr->freq was set (here or earlier), ask for period
* to be sampled.

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2022-01-24 21:40    [W:1.063 / U:1.252 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site