lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2022]   [Jan]   [24]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.19 005/239] veth: Do not record rx queue hint in veth_xmit
Date
From: Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>

commit 710ad98c363a66a0cd8526465426c5c5f8377ee0 upstream.

Laurent reported that they have seen a significant amount of TCP retransmissions
at high throughput from applications residing in network namespaces talking to
the outside world via veths. The drops were seen on the qdisc layer (fq_codel,
as per systemd default) of the phys device such as ena or virtio_net due to all
traffic hitting a _single_ TX queue _despite_ multi-queue device. (Note that the
setup was _not_ using XDP on veths as the issue is generic.)

More specifically, after edbea9220251 ("veth: Store queue_mapping independently
of XDP prog presence") which made it all the way back to v4.19.184+,
skb_record_rx_queue() would set skb->queue_mapping to 1 (given 1 RX and 1 TX
queue by default for veths) instead of leaving at 0.

This is eventually retained and callbacks like ena_select_queue() will also pick
single queue via netdev_core_pick_tx()'s ndo_select_queue() once all the traffic
is forwarded to that device via upper stack or other means. Similarly, for others
not implementing ndo_select_queue() if XPS is disabled, netdev_pick_tx() might
call into the skb_tx_hash() and check for prior skb_rx_queue_recorded() as well.

In general, it is a _bad_ idea for virtual devices like veth to mess around with
queue selection [by default]. Given dev->real_num_tx_queues is by default 1,
the skb->queue_mapping was left untouched, and so prior to edbea9220251 the
netdev_core_pick_tx() could do its job upon __dev_queue_xmit() on the phys device.

Unbreak this and restore prior behavior by removing the skb_record_rx_queue()
from veth_xmit() altogether.

If the veth peer has an XDP program attached, then it would return the first RX
queue index in xdp_md->rx_queue_index (unless configured in non-default manner).
However, this is still better than breaking the generic case.

Fixes: edbea9220251 ("veth: Store queue_mapping independently of XDP prog presence")
Fixes: 638264dc9022 ("veth: Support per queue XDP ring")
Reported-by: Laurent Bernaille <laurent.bernaille@datadoghq.com>
Signed-off-by: Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>
Cc: Maciej Fijalkowski <maciej.fijalkowski@intel.com>
Cc: Toshiaki Makita <toshiaki.makita1@gmail.com>
Cc: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>
Cc: Paolo Abeni <pabeni@redhat.com>
Cc: John Fastabend <john.fastabend@gmail.com>
Cc: Willem de Bruijn <willemb@google.com>
Acked-by: John Fastabend <john.fastabend@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>
Acked-by: Toshiaki Makita <toshiaki.makita1@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
drivers/net/veth.c | 1 -
1 file changed, 1 deletion(-)

--- a/drivers/net/veth.c
+++ b/drivers/net/veth.c
@@ -197,7 +197,6 @@ static netdev_tx_t veth_xmit(struct sk_b
if (rxq < rcv->real_num_rx_queues) {
rq = &rcv_priv->rq[rxq];
rcv_xdp = rcu_access_pointer(rq->xdp_prog);
- skb_record_rx_queue(skb, rxq);
}

if (likely(veth_forward_skb(rcv, skb, rq, rcv_xdp) == NET_RX_SUCCESS)) {

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2022-01-24 20:44    [W:0.888 / U:0.384 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site