lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Jul]   [22]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5.13 103/156] Revert "swap: fix do_swap_page() race with swapoff"
Date
From: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

This reverts commit c3b39134bbd088b7dce5e5f342ccd6bb9142fd18 which is
commit 2799e77529c2a25492a4395db93996e3dacd762d upstream.

It should not have been added to the stable trees, sorry about that.

Link: https://lore.kernel.org/r/YPVgaY6uw59Fqg5x@casper.infradead.org
Reported-by: From: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Miaohe Lin <linmiaohe@huawei.com>
Cc: Ying Huang <ying.huang@intel.com>
Cc: Alex Shi <alexs@kernel.org>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Dennis Zhou <dennis@kernel.org>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Wei Yang <richard.weiyang@gmail.com>
Cc: Yang Shi <shy828301@gmail.com>
Cc: Yu Zhao <yuzhao@google.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
include/linux/swap.h | 9 ---------
mm/memory.c | 11 ++---------
2 files changed, 2 insertions(+), 18 deletions(-)

--- a/include/linux/swap.h
+++ b/include/linux/swap.h
@@ -526,15 +526,6 @@ static inline struct swap_info_struct *s
return NULL;
}

-static inline struct swap_info_struct *get_swap_device(swp_entry_t entry)
-{
- return NULL;
-}
-
-static inline void put_swap_device(struct swap_info_struct *si)
-{
-}
-
#define swap_address_space(entry) (NULL)
#define get_nr_swap_pages() 0L
#define total_swap_pages 0L
--- a/mm/memory.c
+++ b/mm/memory.c
@@ -3353,7 +3353,6 @@ vm_fault_t do_swap_page(struct vm_fault
{
struct vm_area_struct *vma = vmf->vma;
struct page *page = NULL, *swapcache;
- struct swap_info_struct *si = NULL;
swp_entry_t entry;
pte_t pte;
int locked;
@@ -3381,16 +3380,14 @@ vm_fault_t do_swap_page(struct vm_fault
goto out;
}

- /* Prevent swapoff from happening to us. */
- si = get_swap_device(entry);
- if (unlikely(!si))
- goto out;

delayacct_set_flag(current, DELAYACCT_PF_SWAPIN);
page = lookup_swap_cache(entry, vma, vmf->address);
swapcache = page;

if (!page) {
+ struct swap_info_struct *si = swp_swap_info(entry);
+
if (data_race(si->flags & SWP_SYNCHRONOUS_IO) &&
__swap_count(entry) == 1) {
/* skip swapcache */
@@ -3559,8 +3556,6 @@ vm_fault_t do_swap_page(struct vm_fault
unlock:
pte_unmap_unlock(vmf->pte, vmf->ptl);
out:
- if (si)
- put_swap_device(si);
return ret;
out_nomap:
pte_unmap_unlock(vmf->pte, vmf->ptl);
@@ -3572,8 +3567,6 @@ out_release:
unlock_page(swapcache);
put_page(swapcache);
}
- if (si)
- put_swap_device(si);
return ret;
}


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-07-22 19:35    [W:0.418 / U:0.140 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site