lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Jun]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH v9 5/5] dma-buf: system_heap: Add deferred freeing to the system heap
Date
Utilize the deferred free helper library in the system heap.

This provides a nice performance bump and puts the
system heap performance on par with ION.

Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Christian Koenig <christian.koenig@amd.com>
Cc: Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@linaro.org>
Cc: Liam Mark <lmark@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Chris Goldsworthy <cgoldswo@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Laura Abbott <labbott@kernel.org>
Cc: Brian Starkey <Brian.Starkey@arm.com>
Cc: Hridya Valsaraju <hridya@google.com>
Cc: Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com>
Cc: Sandeep Patil <sspatil@google.com>
Cc: Daniel Mentz <danielmentz@google.com>
Cc: Ørjan Eide <orjan.eide@arm.com>
Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>
Cc: Ezequiel Garcia <ezequiel@collabora.com>
Cc: Simon Ser <contact@emersion.fr>
Cc: James Jones <jajones@nvidia.com>
Cc: linux-media@vger.kernel.org
Cc: dri-devel@lists.freedesktop.org
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
---
v2:
* Rework deferred-free api to use reason enum as suggested by
Suren Baghdasaryan
* Rework for deferred-free api change to use nr_pages rather
than size as suggsted by Suren Baghdasaryan
v8:
* Reworked to drop buffer zeroing logic, as the drm_page_pool now
handles that.
---
drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig | 1 +
drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c | 28 ++++++++++++++++++++++------
2 files changed, 23 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig b/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig
index 7e28934e0def..10632ccfb4a5 100644
--- a/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig
+++ b/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/Kconfig
@@ -5,6 +5,7 @@ config DMABUF_HEAPS_SYSTEM
bool "DMA-BUF System Heap"
depends on DMABUF_HEAPS
select DRM_PAGE_POOL
+ select DMABUF_HEAPS_DEFERRED_FREE
help
Choose this option to enable the system dmabuf heap. The system heap
is backed by pages from the buddy allocator. If in doubt, say Y.
diff --git a/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c b/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c
index 85ceca2ed61d..8a0170b0427e 100644
--- a/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c
+++ b/drivers/dma-buf/heaps/system_heap.c
@@ -22,6 +22,7 @@
#include <linux/vmalloc.h>

#include <drm/page_pool.h>
+#include "deferred-free-helper.h"

static struct dma_heap *sys_heap;

@@ -33,6 +34,7 @@ struct system_heap_buffer {
struct sg_table sg_table;
int vmap_cnt;
void *vaddr;
+ struct deferred_freelist_item deferred_free;
};

struct dma_heap_attachment {
@@ -290,27 +292,41 @@ static void system_heap_free_pages(struct drm_page_pool *pool, struct page *p)
__free_pages(p, pool->order);
}

-static void system_heap_dma_buf_release(struct dma_buf *dmabuf)
+static void system_heap_buf_free(struct deferred_freelist_item *item,
+ enum df_reason reason)
{
- struct system_heap_buffer *buffer = dmabuf->priv;
+ struct system_heap_buffer *buffer;
struct sg_table *table;
struct scatterlist *sg;
int i, j;

+ buffer = container_of(item, struct system_heap_buffer, deferred_free);
table = &buffer->sg_table;
for_each_sg(table->sgl, sg, table->nents, i) {
struct page *page = sg_page(sg);

- for (j = 0; j < NUM_ORDERS; j++) {
- if (compound_order(page) == orders[j])
- break;
+ if (reason == DF_UNDER_PRESSURE) {
+ __free_pages(page, compound_order(page));
+ } else {
+ for (j = 0; j < NUM_ORDERS; j++) {
+ if (compound_order(page) == orders[j])
+ break;
+ }
+ drm_page_pool_add(&pools[j], page);
}
- drm_page_pool_add(&pools[j], page);
}
sg_free_table(table);
kfree(buffer);
}

+static void system_heap_dma_buf_release(struct dma_buf *dmabuf)
+{
+ struct system_heap_buffer *buffer = dmabuf->priv;
+ int npages = PAGE_ALIGN(buffer->len) / PAGE_SIZE;
+
+ deferred_free(&buffer->deferred_free, system_heap_buf_free, npages);
+}
+
static const struct dma_buf_ops system_heap_buf_ops = {
.attach = system_heap_attach,
.detach = system_heap_detach,
--
2.25.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-06-30 03:35    [W:0.231 / U:1.360 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site