lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Feb]   [7]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [Intel-gfx] [drm/i915] 04ff178484: phoronix-test-suite.supertuxkart.1024x768.Fullscreen.Ultimate.1.GranParadisoIsland.frames_per_second -30.4% regression
Hi all,

The problem can't be reproduced after test environment changed,
there's no regression found on this patch now, we don't know yet
why it caused a regression in September 2020, but we'll continue
to root cause.

Best Regards,
Rong Chen

On Thu, Jan 21, 2021 at 02:18:25PM +0000, Chiou, Cooper wrote:
> I run “phoronix-test-suite run supertuxkart-1.5.2” on my CML Ubuntu 18.04.5 LTS device, and compared the fps between patch and original upstream, there is no any fps performance drop issue.
>
> 5.10.0-rc3 upstream / 5.10.0-rc3+patch
> fps 12.586326 / 12.687711
>
> Best Regards,
> Cooper
> +886-2-6622-1166
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: kernel test robot <rong.a.chen@intel.com>
> Sent: Monday, September 21, 2020 5:22 PM
> To: Chiou, Cooper <cooper.chiou@intel.com>
> Cc: intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org; Chiou, Cooper <cooper.chiou@intel.com>; Tseng, William <william.tseng@intel.com>; Nikula, Jani <jani.nikula@intel.com>; Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>; lkp <lkp@intel.com>; Ville Syrjälä <ville.syrjala@linux.intel.com>; Vivi, Rodrigo <rodrigo.vivi@intel.com>; Tvrtko Ursulin <tvrtko.ursulin@linux.intel.com>; Lee, Shawn C <shawn.c.lee@intel.com>; LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>; lkp@lists.01.org; Huang, Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>; Tang, Feng <feng.tang@intel.com>; Xing, Zhengjun <zhengjun.xing@intel.com>; Chen, Guobing <guobing.chen@intel.com>; Chen, Ming A <ming.a.chen@intel.com>; Du, Frank <frank.du@intel.com>; Fan, Shuhua <shuhua.fan@intel.com>; Guo, Wangyang <wangyang.guo@intel.com>; Huang, Wenhuan <wenhuan.huang@intel.com>; Ji, Jessica <jessica.ji@intel.com>; Kang, Shan <shan.kang@intel.com>; Li, Guangli <guangli.li@intel.com>; Li, Tiejun <tiejun.li@intel.com>; Ma, Yu <yu.ma@intel.com>; Mi, Dapeng1 <dapeng1.mi@intel.com>; Sun, Jiebin <jiebin.sun@intel.com>; Xie, Gengxin <gengxin.xie@intel.com>; Zhao, Fan <fan.zhao@intel.com>
> Subject: [drm/i915] 04ff178484: phoronix-test-suite.supertuxkart.1024x768.Fullscreen.Ultimate.1.GranParadisoIsland.frames_per_second -30.4% regression
>
> Greeting,
>
> FYI, we noticed a -30.4% regression of phoronix-test-suite.supertuxkart.1024x768.Fullscreen.Ultimate.1.GranParadisoIsland.frames_per_second due to commit:
>
>
> commit: 04ff1784840f5f954a656c7e8795c76467e29128 ("[Intel-gfx] [PATCH] drm/i915: Enable WaProgramMgsrForCorrectSliceSpecificMmioReads for Gen9")
> url: https://github.com/0day-ci/linux/commits/Cooper-Chiou/drm-i915-Enable-WaProgramMgsrForCorrectSliceSpecificMmioReads-for-Gen9/20200917-021540
> base: git://anongit.freedesktop.org/drm-intel for-linux-next
>
> in testcase: phoronix-test-suite
> on test machine: 4 threads Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7567U CPU @ 3.50GHz with 32G memory with following parameters:
>
> need_x: true
> test: supertuxkart-1.5.2
> option_a: Fullscreen
> option_b: Ultimate
> option_c: 1
> option_d: Gran Paradiso Island [Approximately 275k triangles; advanced graphics]
> cpufreq_governor: performance
> ucode: 0xd6
>
> test-description: The Phoronix Test Suite is the most comprehensive testing and benchmarking platform available that provides an extensible framework for which new tests can be easily added.
> test-url: http://www.phoronix-test-suite.com/
>
>
>
> If you fix the issue, kindly add following tag
> Reported-by: kernel test robot <rong.a.chen@intel.com>
>
>
> Details are as below:
> -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------->
>
>
> To reproduce:
>
> git clone https://github.com/intel/lkp-tests.git
> cd lkp-tests
> bin/lkp install job.yaml # job file is attached in this email
> bin/lkp run job.yaml
>
> =========================================================================================
> compiler/cpufreq_governor/kconfig/need_x/option_a/option_b/option_c/option_d/rootfs/tbox_group/test/testcase/ucode:
> gcc-9/performance/x86_64-rhel-8.3/true/Fullscreen/Ultimate/1/Gran Paradiso Island [Approximately 275k triangles; advanced graphics]/debian-x86_64-phoronix/lkp-kbl-nuc1/supertuxkart-1.5.2/phoronix-test-suite/0xd6
>
> commit:
> 400d4953f1 ("drm/i915/pll: Centralize PLL_ENABLE register lookup")
> 04ff178484 ("drm/i915: Enable WaProgramMgsrForCorrectSliceSpecificMmioReads for Gen9")
>
> 400d4953f1f434d5 04ff1784840f5f954a656c7e879
> ---------------- ---------------------------
> %stddev %change %stddev
> \ | \
> 35.32 -30.4% 24.59 phoronix-test-suite.supertuxkart.1024x768.Fullscreen.Ultimate.1.GranParadisoIsland.frames_per_second
> 3638 ± 15% -39.2% 2211 ± 4% phoronix-test-suite.time.involuntary_context_switches
> 32.00 -30.5% 22.25 phoronix-test-suite.time.percent_of_cpu_this_job_got
>
>
>
>
>
> 36 +----------------------------------------------------------------------+
> |.+.+..+.+.+.+..+.+.+.+.+..+.+.+.+..+.+.+.+.+..+.+.+.+.+..+ +.+..+.+.|
> 34 |-+ |
> | |
> | |
> 32 |-+ |
> | |
> 30 |-+ |
> | |
> 28 |-+ |
> | |
> | |
> 26 |-+ |
> | O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O |
> 24 +----------------------------------------------------------------------+
>
>
> phoronix-test-suite.time.percent_of_cpu_this_job_got
>
> 32 +----------------------------------------------------------------------+
> | + +. + + +.+.+. |
> 30 |-+ |
> | |
> | |
> 28 |-+ |
> | |
> 26 |-+ |
> | |
> 24 |-+ |
> | O O |
> | |
> 22 |-O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O O |
> | O |
> 20 +----------------------------------------------------------------------+
>
>
> [*] bisect-good sample
> [O] bisect-bad sample
>
>
>
> Disclaimer:
> Results have been estimated based on internal Intel analysis and are provided
> for informational purposes only. Any difference in system hardware or software
> design or configuration may affect actual performance.
>
>
> Thanks,
> Rong Chen
>
> _______________________________________________
> Intel-gfx mailing list
> Intel-gfx@lists.freedesktop.org
> https://lists.freedesktop.org/mailman/listinfo/intel-gfx

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-02-08 01:48    [W:0.096 / U:12.364 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site