lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Dec]   [4]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH -mm 1/5] elfcore: replace old hard-code 16 with TASK_COMM_LEN_16
Date
A new macro TASK_COMM_LEN_16 is introduced for the old hard-coded 16 to
make it more grepable. As explained above this marco, the difference
between TASK_COMM_LEN and TASK_COMM_LEN_16 is that TASK_COMM_LEN_16 must
be a fixed size 16 and can't be changed.

Signed-off-by: Yafang Shao <laoar.shao@gmail.com>
Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <arnaldo.melo@gmail.com>
Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <alexei.starovoitov@gmail.com>
Cc: Andrii Nakryiko <andrii.nakryiko@gmail.com>
Cc: Michal Miroslaw <mirq-linux@rere.qmqm.pl>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
---
include/linux/elfcore-compat.h | 8 ++------
include/linux/elfcore.h | 9 ++-------
include/linux/sched.h | 5 +++++
3 files changed, 9 insertions(+), 13 deletions(-)

diff --git a/include/linux/elfcore-compat.h b/include/linux/elfcore-compat.h
index 54feb64e9b5d..69fa1a728964 100644
--- a/include/linux/elfcore-compat.h
+++ b/include/linux/elfcore-compat.h
@@ -5,6 +5,7 @@
#include <linux/elf.h>
#include <linux/elfcore.h>
#include <linux/compat.h>
+#include <linux/sched.h>

/*
* Make sure these layouts match the linux/elfcore.h native definitions.
@@ -43,12 +44,7 @@ struct compat_elf_prpsinfo
__compat_uid_t pr_uid;
__compat_gid_t pr_gid;
compat_pid_t pr_pid, pr_ppid, pr_pgrp, pr_sid;
- /*
- * The hard-coded 16 is derived from TASK_COMM_LEN, but it can't be
- * changed as it is exposed to userspace. We'd better make it hard-coded
- * here.
- */
- char pr_fname[16];
+ char pr_fname[TASK_COMM_LEN_16];
char pr_psargs[ELF_PRARGSZ];
};

diff --git a/include/linux/elfcore.h b/include/linux/elfcore.h
index 746e081879a5..d3bb4bd3c985 100644
--- a/include/linux/elfcore.h
+++ b/include/linux/elfcore.h
@@ -65,13 +65,8 @@ struct elf_prpsinfo
__kernel_gid_t pr_gid;
pid_t pr_pid, pr_ppid, pr_pgrp, pr_sid;
/* Lots missing */
- /*
- * The hard-coded 16 is derived from TASK_COMM_LEN, but it can't be
- * changed as it is exposed to userspace. We'd better make it hard-coded
- * here.
- */
- char pr_fname[16]; /* filename of executable */
- char pr_psargs[ELF_PRARGSZ]; /* initial part of arg list */
+ char pr_fname[TASK_COMM_LEN_16]; /* filename of executable */
+ char pr_psargs[ELF_PRARGSZ]; /* initial part of arg list */
};

static inline void elf_core_copy_regs(elf_gregset_t *elfregs, struct pt_regs *regs)
diff --git a/include/linux/sched.h b/include/linux/sched.h
index c79bd7ee6029..8d963a50a2a8 100644
--- a/include/linux/sched.h
+++ b/include/linux/sched.h
@@ -279,6 +279,11 @@ struct task_group;
* BPF programs.
*/
enum {
+ /*
+ * For the old hard-coded 16, which is exposed to userspace and can't
+ * be changed.
+ */
+ TASK_COMM_LEN_16 = 16,
TASK_COMM_LEN = 16,
};

--
2.17.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-12-04 10:54    [W:0.219 / U:25.268 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site