lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Dec]   [4]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH v2 0/3] topology/sysfs: only export used sysfs attributes
Date


> -----Original Message-----
> From: Brice Goglin [mailto:Brice.Goglin@inria.fr]
> Sent: Saturday, December 4, 2021 10:48 PM
> To: Song Bao Hua (Barry Song) <song.bao.hua@hisilicon.com>; Greg Kroah-Hartman
> <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>; Heiko Carstens <hca@linux.ibm.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>; Rafael J . Wysocki
> <rafael@kernel.org>; Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>;
> linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org; Jonathan Cameron <jonathan.cameron@huawei.com>;
> Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>; Thomas Richter <tmricht@linux.ibm.com>; Ian
> Rogers <irogers@google.com>
> Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 0/3] topology/sysfs: only export used sysfs attributes
>
> Le 04/12/2021 à 10:07, Song Bao Hua (Barry Song) a écrit :
> >
> > Could you give me one minute?
> >
> > +Brice
> >
> > I'd like to hear some feedbacks from hwloc if there
> > is a chance to break userspace and if userspace depends
> > on the existence of sysfs even though the topology
> > doesn't exist.
> >
> > If no, I feel it is safe to take.
> >
>
> Hello
>
> If the question is whether hwloc *requires* cluster/die/book/drawer
> sysfs files to exist, then the answer is no. We have to support old
> kernels without those files anyway.

Thanks for clarification, Brice. I saw hwloc is reading sysfs
drawer, book and cluster. But since it doesn't assume their
existence in sysfs, I have more confidence on this patchset
now.

Greg, please ignore my comment then :-)

>
> Brice
>
>

Thanks
Barry
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-12-04 12:46    [W:0.043 / U:0.376 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site