lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Dec]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
Subject[PATCH V5 2/5] crypto: ccp - Move SEV_INIT retry for corrupted data
From
Move the data corrupted retry of SEV_INIT into the
__sev_platform_init_locked() function. This is for upcoming INIT_EX
support as well as helping direct callers of
__sev_platform_init_locked() which currently do not support the
retry.

Signed-off-by: Peter Gonda <pgonda@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Marc Orr <marcorr@google.com>
Acked-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Acked-by: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
Cc: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
Cc: Brijesh Singh <brijesh.singh@amd.com>
Cc: Marc Orr <marcorr@google.com>
Cc: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de>
Cc: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: John Allen <john.allen@amd.com>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: linux-crypto@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
---
drivers/crypto/ccp/sev-dev.c | 30 ++++++++++++++++--------------
1 file changed, 16 insertions(+), 14 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/crypto/ccp/sev-dev.c b/drivers/crypto/ccp/sev-dev.c
index f527e5f9ed1f..ef7e8b4c6e02 100644
--- a/drivers/crypto/ccp/sev-dev.c
+++ b/drivers/crypto/ccp/sev-dev.c
@@ -241,7 +241,7 @@ static int __sev_platform_init_locked(int *error)
struct psp_device *psp = psp_master;
struct sev_data_init data;
struct sev_device *sev;
- int rc = 0;
+ int psp_ret, rc = 0;

if (!psp || !psp->sev_data)
return -ENODEV;
@@ -266,7 +266,21 @@ static int __sev_platform_init_locked(int *error)
data.tmr_len = SEV_ES_TMR_SIZE;
}

- rc = __sev_do_cmd_locked(SEV_CMD_INIT, &data, error);
+ rc = __sev_do_cmd_locked(SEV_CMD_INIT, &data, &psp_ret);
+ if (rc && psp_ret == SEV_RET_SECURE_DATA_INVALID) {
+ /*
+ * Initialization command returned an integrity check failure
+ * status code, meaning that firmware load and validation of SEV
+ * related persistent data has failed. Retrying the
+ * initialization function should succeed by replacing the state
+ * with a reset state.
+ */
+ dev_dbg(sev->dev, "SEV: retrying INIT command");
+ rc = __sev_do_cmd_locked(SEV_CMD_INIT, &data, &psp_ret);
+ }
+ if (error)
+ *error = psp_ret;
+
if (rc)
return rc;

@@ -1091,18 +1105,6 @@ void sev_pci_init(void)

/* Initialize the platform */
rc = sev_platform_init(&error);
- if (rc && (error == SEV_RET_SECURE_DATA_INVALID)) {
- /*
- * INIT command returned an integrity check failure
- * status code, meaning that firmware load and
- * validation of SEV related persistent data has
- * failed and persistent state has been erased.
- * Retrying INIT command here should succeed.
- */
- dev_dbg(sev->dev, "SEV: retrying INIT command");
- rc = sev_platform_init(&error);
- }
-
if (rc) {
dev_err(sev->dev, "SEV: failed to INIT error %#x, rc %d\n",
error, rc);
--
2.34.0.384.gca35af8252-goog
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-12-03 15:47    [W:0.066 / U:0.256 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site