lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Jan]   [30]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [RFC][PATCH 03/13] mm/vmscan: replace implicit RECLAIM_ZONE checks with explicit checks
On Mon, 25 Jan 2021, Dave Hansen wrote:

>
> From: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
>
> RECLAIM_ZONE was assumed to be unused because it was never explicitly
> used in the kernel. However, there were a number of places where it
> was checked implicitly by checking 'node_reclaim_mode' for a zero
> value.
>
> These zero checks are not great because it is not obvious what a zero
> mode *means* in the code. Replace them with a helper which makes it
> more obvious: node_reclaim_enabled().
>
> This helper also provides a handy place to explicitly check the
> RECLAIM_ZONE bit itself. Check it explicitly there to make it more
> obvious where the bit can affect behavior.
>
> This should have no functional impact.
>
> Signed-off-by: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
> Reviewed-by: Ben Widawsky <ben.widawsky@intel.com>
> Acked-by: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
> Cc: Alex Shi <alex.shi@linux.alibaba.com>
> Cc: "Tobin C. Harding" <tobin@kernel.org>
> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
> Cc: Qian Cai <cai@lca.pw>
> Cc: Daniel Wagner <dwagner@suse.de>
> Cc: osalvador <osalvador@suse.de>

Acked-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-01-31 02:13    [W:0.238 / U:1.192 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site