lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Jan]   [22]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5.4 02/33] compiler.h: Raise minimum version of GCC to 5.1 for arm64
Date
From: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>

commit dca5244d2f5b94f1809f0c02a549edf41ccd5493 upstream.

GCC versions >= 4.9 and < 5.1 have been shown to emit memory references
beyond the stack pointer, resulting in memory corruption if an interrupt
is taken after the stack pointer has been adjusted but before the
reference has been executed. This leads to subtle, infrequent data
corruption such as the EXT4 problems reported by Russell King at the
link below.

Life is too short for buggy compilers, so raise the minimum GCC version
required by arm64 to 5.1.

Reported-by: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Suggested-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Tested-by: Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: Theodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu>
Cc: Florian Weimer <fweimer@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>
Link: https://lore.kernel.org/r/20210105154726.GD1551@shell.armlinux.org.uk
Link: https://lore.kernel.org/r/20210112224832.10980-1-will@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
[will: backport to 4.19.y/5.4.y]
Signed-off-by: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
include/linux/compiler-gcc.h | 6 ++++++
1 file changed, 6 insertions(+)

--- a/include/linux/compiler-gcc.h
+++ b/include/linux/compiler-gcc.h
@@ -12,6 +12,12 @@

#if GCC_VERSION < 40600
# error Sorry, your compiler is too old - please upgrade it.
+#elif defined(CONFIG_ARM64) && GCC_VERSION < 50100
+/*
+ * https://gcc.gnu.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=63293
+ * https://lore.kernel.org/r/20210107111841.GN1551@shell.armlinux.org.uk
+ */
+# error Sorry, your version of GCC is too old - please use 5.1 or newer.
#endif

/*

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-01-22 19:49    [W:0.228 / U:5.668 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site