lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Sep]   [24]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH v7 1/7] arm64: perf: Add missing ISB in armv8pmu_enable_counter()
Date
Writes to the PMXEVTYPER_EL0 register are not self-synchronising. In
armv8pmu_enable_event(), the PE can reorder configuring the event type
after we have enabled the counter and the interrupt. This can lead to an
interrupt being asserted because of the previous event type that we were
counting using the same counter, not the one that we've just configured.

The same rationale applies to writes to the PMINTENSET_EL1 register. The PE
can reorder enabling the interrupt at any point in the future after we have
enabled the event.

Prevent both situations from happening by adding an ISB just before we
enable the event counter.

Cc: Julien Thierry <julien.thierry.kdev@gmail.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Fixes: 030896885ade ("arm64: Performance counters support")
Reported-by: Julien Thierry <julien.thierry@arm.com>
Tested-by: Sumit Garg <sumit.garg@linaro.org> (Developerbox)
Signed-off-by: Alexandru Elisei <alexandru.elisei@arm.com>
---
arch/arm64/kernel/perf_event.c | 5 +++++
1 file changed, 5 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/perf_event.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/perf_event.c
index 462f9a9cc44b..481d48e3872b 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/perf_event.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/perf_event.c
@@ -532,6 +532,11 @@ static u32 armv8pmu_event_cnten_mask(struct perf_event *event)

static inline void armv8pmu_enable_counter(u32 mask)
{
+ /*
+ * Make sure event configuration register writes are visible before we
+ * enable the counter.
+ * */
+ isb();
write_sysreg(mask, pmcntenset_el0);
}

--
2.28.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-09-24 13:06    [W:0.120 / U:2.872 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site