lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Aug]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v3 1/2] perf bench numa: use numa_node_to_cpus() to bind tasks to nodes
* Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@linux.ibm.com> [2020-08-13 13:32:48]:

> It is currently assumed that each node contains at most
> nr_cpus/nr_nodes CPUs and nodes' CPU ranges do not overlap.
> That assumption is generally incorrect as there are archs
> where a CPU number does not depend on to its node number.
>
> This update removes the described assumption by simply calling
> numa_node_to_cpus() interface and using the returned mask for
> binding CPUs to nodes.
>
> Also, variable types and names made consistent in functions
> using cpumask.
>
> Cc: Satheesh Rajendran <sathnaga@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> Cc: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> Cc: Naveen N. Rao <naveen.n.rao@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> Cc: Balamuruhan S <bala24@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
> Signed-off-by: Alexander Gordeev <agordeev@linux.ibm.com>
> ---
> @@ -310,13 +306,16 @@ static cpu_set_t bind_to_node(int target_node)
> for (cpu = 0; cpu < g->p.nr_cpus; cpu++)
> CPU_SET(cpu, &mask);
> } else {
> - int cpu_start = (target_node + 0) * cpus_per_node;
> - int cpu_stop = (target_node + 1) * cpus_per_node;
> -
> - BUG_ON(cpu_stop > g->p.nr_cpus);
> + struct bitmask *cpumask = numa_allocate_cpumask();
>
> - for (cpu = cpu_start; cpu < cpu_stop; cpu++)
> - CPU_SET(cpu, &mask);
> + BUG_ON(!cpumask);
> + if (!numa_node_to_cpus(target_node, cpumask)) {
> + for (cpu = 0; cpu < (int)cpumask->size; cpu++) {
> + if (numa_bitmask_isbitset(cpumask, cpu))
> + CPU_SET(cpu, &mask);
> + }
> + }
> + numa_free_cpumask(cpumask);
> }
>
> ret = sched_setaffinity(0, sizeof(mask), &mask);
> --
> 1.8.3.1
>

Looks good to me.

Reviewed-by: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>

--
Thanks and Regards
Srikar Dronamraju

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-08-13 14:08    [W:0.095 / U:0.840 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site