lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Apr]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH v6 02/11] arm64: defconfig: enable CONFIG_PCIE_RCAR_HOST
Date
Hi Shimoda-san/Geert-san,

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Yoshihiro Shimoda <yoshihiro.shimoda.uh@renesas.com>
> Sent: 03 April 2020 10:05
> To: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>; Prabhakar Mahadev Lad <prabhakar.mahadev-lad.rj@bp.renesas.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>; Geert Uytterhoeven <geert+renesas@glider.be>; Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>; Arnd
> Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>; Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>; Andrew Murray <andrew.murray@arm.com>;
> devicetree@vger.kernel.org; linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org; linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org; linux-renesas-soc@vger.kernel.org; Chris
> Paterson <Chris.Paterson2@renesas.com>; Frank Rowand <frowand.list@gmail.com>; Gustavo Pimentel
> <gustavo.pimentel@synopsys.com>; Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@gmail.com>; Simon Horman <horms@verge.net.au>; Shawn Lin
> <shawn.lin@rock-chips.com>; Tom Joseph <tjoseph@cadence.com>; Heiko Stuebner <heiko@sntech.de>; linux-
> rockchip@lists.infradead.org; Lad Prabhakar <prabhakar.csengg@gmail.com>; Magnus Damm <magnus.damm@gmail.com>; Kishon Vijay
> Abraham I <kishon@ti.com>; Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>; Marek Vasut <marek.vasut+renesas@gmail.com>; linux-
> pci@vger.kernel.org; Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>; Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>; Mark Rutland
> <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Subject: RE: [PATCH v6 02/11] arm64: defconfig: enable CONFIG_PCIE_RCAR_HOST
>
> Hi Geert-san,
>
> Thank you for your comments!
>
> > From: Geert Uytterhoeven, Sent: Friday, April 3, 2020 5:28 PM
> <snip>
> > > But, I'm thinking this patch (and patch 03/11) should be separated
> > > from this patch series for arm64 subsystem to ease maintenance.
> > > My scenario is:
> > > 1) patch series 1: R-Car PCIe endpoint support.
> > > -- This means: patch 1, 4 - 9, 11
> > >
> > > 2) After the patch series 1 is merged, submit this patch 2/11 to arm subsystem
> > > and submit the patch 10/11 to misc subsystem.
> > >
> > > 3) At last, submit patch 3/11 after the patch 2/11 is merged.
> > >
> > > Geert-san, what do you think?
> >
> > Thanks, I agree with your summary.
> >
> > I can take patch 2/11 through renesas-devel.
> > Probably it's best if I submit it to arm-soc as a fix for v5.8, after
> > the driver part
> > has been merged into v5.8-rc1, so 3/11 can be submitted for v5.9.
>
> Thank you! I got it.
>
Thank you, Ill split the patches accordingly and post a v7.

> > BTW, I'm wondering about "[PATCH v6 05/11] PCI: rcar: Fix calculating
> > mask for PCIEPAMR register". Can the issue fixed by this patch happen with
> > the current driver in host mode, or is that limited to ep mode?
> > In case of the former, please submit it to the PCI maintainer as a separate
> > fix.
>
> Thank you for pointed it out. I think this is the case of the former.
> IIUC, if such a small window PCIe device exists, the issue happens.
>
> Prabhakar-san, is my understanding correct?
>
This issue will only be hit on EP, when in host mode the sizes will be fixed to 1 Mbytes /2 Mbytes /128 Mbytes

Cheers,
--Prabhakar

> Best regards,
> Yoshihiro Shimoda



Renesas Electronics Europe GmbH, Geschaeftsfuehrer/President: Carsten Jauch, Sitz der Gesellschaft/Registered office: Duesseldorf, Arcadiastrasse 10, 40472 Duesseldorf, Germany, Handelsregister/Commercial Register: Duesseldorf, HRB 3708 USt-IDNr./Tax identification no.: DE 119353406 WEEE-Reg.-Nr./WEEE reg. no.: DE 14978647
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-04-03 11:32    [W:0.062 / U:3.128 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site