lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Apr]   [2]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH v4 02/25] mm/memory_hotplug: Allow check_hotplug_memory_addressable to be called from drivers
Date
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
> Sent: Wednesday, 1 April 2020 7:48 PM
> To: Alastair D'Silva <alastair@d-silva.org>
> Cc: Aneesh Kumar K . V <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>; Oliver O'Halloran
> <oohall@gmail.com>; Benjamin Herrenschmidt
> <benh@kernel.crashing.org>; Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>; Michael
> Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>; Frederic Barrat <fbarrat@linux.ibm.com>;
> Andrew Donnellan <ajd@linux.ibm.com>; Arnd Bergmann
> <arnd@arndb.de>; Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>;
> Vishal Verma <vishal.l.verma@intel.com>; Dave Jiang
> <dave.jiang@intel.com>; Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>; Andrew Morton
> <akpm@linux-foundation.org>; Mauro Carvalho Chehab
> <mchehab+samsung@kernel.org>; David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>;
> Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>; Anton Blanchard <anton@ozlabs.org>;
> Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>; Mahesh Salgaonkar
> <mahesh@linux.vnet.ibm.com>; Madhavan Srinivasan
> <maddy@linux.vnet.ibm.com>; Cédric Le Goater <clg@kaod.org>; Anju T
> Sudhakar <anju@linux.vnet.ibm.com>; Hari Bathini
> <hbathini@linux.ibm.com>; Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>; Greg
> Kurz <groug@kaod.org>; Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>; Masahiro
> Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>; Alexey Kardashevskiy
> <aik@ozlabs.ru>; Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>;
> linuxppc-dev <linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>; linux-nvdimm <linux-
> nvdimm@lists.01.org>; Linux MM <linux-mm@kvack.org>
> Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 02/25] mm/memory_hotplug: Allow
> check_hotplug_memory_addressable to be called from drivers
>
> On Sun, Mar 29, 2020 at 10:23 PM Alastair D'Silva <alastair@d-silva.org>
> wrote:
> >
> > When setting up OpenCAPI connected persistent memory, the range check
> > may not be performed until quite late (or perhaps not at all, if the
> > user does not establish a DAX device).
> >
> > This patch makes the range check callable so we can perform the check
> > while probing the OpenCAPI Persistent Memory device.
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Alastair D'Silva <alastair@d-silva.org>
> > Reviewed-by: Andrew Donnellan <ajd@linux.ibm.com>
> > ---
> > include/linux/memory_hotplug.h | 5 +++++
> > mm/memory_hotplug.c | 4 ++--
> > 2 files changed, 7 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
> >
> > diff --git a/include/linux/memory_hotplug.h
> > b/include/linux/memory_hotplug.h index f4d59155f3d4..9a19ae0d7e31
> > 100644
> > --- a/include/linux/memory_hotplug.h
> > +++ b/include/linux/memory_hotplug.h
> > @@ -337,6 +337,11 @@ static inline void __remove_memory(int nid, u64
> > start, u64 size) {} extern void set_zone_contiguous(struct zone
> > *zone); extern void clear_zone_contiguous(struct zone *zone);
> >
> > +#ifdef CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG_SPARSE
> > +int check_hotplug_memory_addressable(unsigned long pfn,
> > + unsigned long nr_pages); #endif
> > +/* CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG_SPARSE */
>
> Let's move this to include/linux/memory.h with the other
> CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG_SPARSE declarations, and add a dummy
> implementation for the CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG_SPARSE=n case.
>
> Also, this patch can be squashed with the next one, no need for it to be
> stand alone.
>

Ok

>
> > +
> > extern void __ref free_area_init_core_hotplug(int nid); extern int
> > __add_memory(int nid, u64 start, u64 size); extern int add_memory(int
> > nid, u64 start, u64 size); diff --git a/mm/memory_hotplug.c
> > b/mm/memory_hotplug.c index 0a54ffac8c68..14945f033594 100644
> > --- a/mm/memory_hotplug.c
> > +++ b/mm/memory_hotplug.c
> > @@ -276,8 +276,8 @@ static int check_pfn_span(unsigned long pfn,
> unsigned long nr_pages,
> > return 0;
> > }
> >
> > -static int check_hotplug_memory_addressable(unsigned long pfn,
> > - unsigned long nr_pages)
> > +int check_hotplug_memory_addressable(unsigned long pfn,
> > + unsigned long nr_pages)
> > {
> > const u64 max_addr = PFN_PHYS(pfn + nr_pages) - 1;
> >
> > --
> > 2.24.1
> >

--
Alastair D'Silva mob: 0423 762 819
skype: alastair_dsilva msn: alastair@d-silva.org
blog: http://alastair.d-silva.org Twitter: @EvilDeece



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-04-02 06:35    [W:0.043 / U:0.604 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site