lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Apr]   [2]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH v4 08/25] ocxl: Emit a log message showing how much LPC memory was detected
Date
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
> Sent: Wednesday, 1 April 2020 7:49 PM
> To: Alastair D'Silva <alastair@d-silva.org>
> Cc: Aneesh Kumar K . V <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>; Oliver O'Halloran
> <oohall@gmail.com>; Benjamin Herrenschmidt
> <benh@kernel.crashing.org>; Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>; Michael
> Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>; Frederic Barrat <fbarrat@linux.ibm.com>;
> Andrew Donnellan <ajd@linux.ibm.com>; Arnd Bergmann
> <arnd@arndb.de>; Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>;
> Vishal Verma <vishal.l.verma@intel.com>; Dave Jiang
> <dave.jiang@intel.com>; Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>; Andrew Morton
> <akpm@linux-foundation.org>; Mauro Carvalho Chehab
> <mchehab+samsung@kernel.org>; David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>;
> Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>; Anton Blanchard <anton@ozlabs.org>;
> Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@kernel.org>; Mahesh Salgaonkar
> <mahesh@linux.vnet.ibm.com>; Madhavan Srinivasan
> <maddy@linux.vnet.ibm.com>; Cédric Le Goater <clg@kaod.org>; Anju T
> Sudhakar <anju@linux.vnet.ibm.com>; Hari Bathini
> <hbathini@linux.ibm.com>; Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>; Greg
> Kurz <groug@kaod.org>; Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>; Masahiro
> Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>; Alexey Kardashevskiy
> <aik@ozlabs.ru>; Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>;
> linuxppc-dev <linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>; linux-nvdimm <linux-
> nvdimm@lists.01.org>; Linux MM <linux-mm@kvack.org>
> Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 08/25] ocxl: Emit a log message showing how much
> LPC memory was detected
>
> On Sun, Mar 29, 2020 at 10:23 PM Alastair D'Silva <alastair@d-silva.org>
> wrote:
> >
> > This patch emits a message showing how much LPC memory & special
> > purpose memory was detected on an OCXL device.
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Alastair D'Silva <alastair@d-silva.org>
> > Acked-by: Frederic Barrat <fbarrat@linux.ibm.com>
> > Acked-by: Andrew Donnellan <ajd@linux.ibm.com>
> > ---
> > drivers/misc/ocxl/config.c | 4 ++++
> > 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+)
> >
> > diff --git a/drivers/misc/ocxl/config.c b/drivers/misc/ocxl/config.c
> > index a62e3d7db2bf..69cca341d446 100644
> > --- a/drivers/misc/ocxl/config.c
> > +++ b/drivers/misc/ocxl/config.c
> > @@ -568,6 +568,10 @@ static int read_afu_lpc_memory_info(struct
> pci_dev *dev,
> > afu->special_purpose_mem_size =
> > total_mem_size - lpc_mem_size;
> > }
> > +
> > + dev_info(&dev->dev, "Probed LPC memory of %#llx bytes and special
> purpose memory of %#llx bytes\n",
> > + afu->lpc_mem_size, afu->special_purpose_mem_size);
>
> A patch for a single log message is too fine grained for my taste, let's squash
> this into another patch in the series.
>

I'm not sure there's a great place for it. At a pinch, it could with the previous patch, but they are really different layers.

> > +
> > return 0;
> > }
> >
> > --
> > 2.24.1
> >
>
>
> --
> This email has been checked for viruses by AVG.
> https://www.avg.com


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-04-03 05:53    [W:0.046 / U:1.276 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site