lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Mar]   [31]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Date
SubjectRe: [PATCH] driver core: Use dev_warn() instead of dev_WARN() for deferred_probe_timeout warnings
On Tue, 31 Mar 2020 at 01:57, John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org> wrote:
>
> In commit c8c43cee29f6 ("driver core: Fix
> driver_deferred_probe_check_state() logic") and following
> changes the logic was changes slightly so that if there is no
> driver to match whats found in the dtb, we wait 30 seconds
> for modules to be loaded by userland, and then timeout, where
> as previously we'd print "ignoring dependency for device,
> assuming no driver" and immediately return -ENODEV after
> initcall_done.
>
> However, in the timeout case (which previously existed but was
> practicaly un-used without a boot argument), the timeout message
> uses dev_WARN(). This means folks are now seeing a big backtrace
> in their boot logs if there a entry in their dts that doesn't
> have a driver.
>
> To fix this, lets use dev_warn(), instead of dev_WARN() to match
> the previous error path.
>
> Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@arm.com>
> Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
> Cc: Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@arm.com>
> Cc: Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Naresh Kamboju <naresh.kamboju@linaro.org>
> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>
> Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: Basil Eljuse <Basil.Eljuse@arm.com>
> Cc: Ferry Toth <fntoth@gmail.com>
> Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
> Cc: Anders Roxell <anders.roxell@linaro.org>
> Fixes: c8c43cee29f6 ("driver core: Fix driver_deferred_probe_check_state() logic")
> Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>

Tested-by: Naresh Kamboju <naresh.kamboju@linaro.org>

I have applied this patch and tested.
The reported problem is fixed by patch on arm64 Juno-r2 device.
https://lkft.validation.linaro.org/scheduler/job/1323860#L556

- Naresh

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-03-31 08:55    [W:0.039 / U:26.828 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site