lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Mar]   [31]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
Subject[PATCH V3 0/3] arm64: Enable vmemmap mapping from device memory
Date
This series enables vmemmap backing memory allocation from device memory
ranges on arm64. But before that, it enables vmemmap_populate_basepages()
and vmemmap_alloc_block_buf() to accommodate struct vmem_altmap based
alocation requests.

This series applies after latest (v14) arm64 memory hot remove series
(https://lkml.org/lkml/2020/3/3/1746) on Linux 5.6.

Pending Question:

altmap_alloc_block_buf() does not have any other remaining users in the
tree after this change. Should it be converted into a static function and
it's declaration be dropped from the header (include/linux/mm.h). Avoided
doing so because I was not sure if there are any off-tree users or not.

Changes in V3:

- Dropped comment from free_hotplug_page_range() per Robin
- Modified comment in unmap_hotplug_range() per Robin
- Enabled altmap support in vmemmap_alloc_block_buf() per Robin

Changes in V2: (https://lkml.org/lkml/2020/3/4/475)

- Rebased on latest hot-remove series (v14) adding P4D page table support

Changes in V1: (https://lkml.org/lkml/2020/1/23/12)

- Added an WARN_ON() in unmap_hotplug_range() when altmap is
provided without the page table backing memory being freed

Changes in RFC V2: (https://lkml.org/lkml/2019/10/21/11)

- Changed the commit message on 1/2 patch per Will
- Changed the commit message on 2/2 patch as well
- Rebased on arm64 memory hot remove series (v10)

RFC V1: (https://lkml.org/lkml/2019/6/28/32)

Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Paul Walmsley <paul.walmsley@sifive.com>
Cc: Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@dabbelt.com>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: "Matthew Wilcox (Oracle)" <willy@infradead.org>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@soleen.com>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Cc: linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-riscv@lists.infradead.org
Cc: x86@kernel.org
Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org

Anshuman Khandual (3):
mm/sparsemem: Enable vmem_altmap support in vmemmap_populate_basepages()
mm/sparsemem: Enable vmem_altmap support in vmemmap_alloc_block_buf()
arm64/mm: Enable vmem_altmap support for vmemmap mappings

arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c | 59 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++-------------
arch/ia64/mm/discontig.c | 2 +-
arch/powerpc/mm/init_64.c | 10 +++----
arch/riscv/mm/init.c | 2 +-
arch/x86/mm/init_64.c | 12 ++++----
include/linux/mm.h | 8 ++++--
mm/sparse-vmemmap.c | 38 ++++++++++++++++++++-----
7 files changed, 87 insertions(+), 44 deletions(-)

--
2.20.1

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-03-31 07:10    [W:0.097 / U:2.500 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site