lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Mar]   [17]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5.5 110/151] pid: Fix error return value in some cases
Date
From: Corey Minyard <cminyard@mvista.com>

commit b26ebfe12f34f372cf041c6f801fa49c3fb382c5 upstream.

Recent changes to alloc_pid() allow the pid number to be specified on
the command line. If set_tid_size is set, then the code scanning the
levels will hard-set retval to -EPERM, overriding it's previous -ENOMEM
value.

After the code scanning the levels, there are error returns that do not
set retval, assuming it is still set to -ENOMEM.

So set retval back to -ENOMEM after scanning the levels.

Fixes: 49cb2fc42ce4 ("fork: extend clone3() to support setting a PID")
Signed-off-by: Corey Minyard <cminyard@mvista.com>
Acked-by: Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>
Cc: Andrei Vagin <avagin@gmail.com>
Cc: Dmitry Safonov <0x7f454c46@gmail.com>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Adrian Reber <areber@redhat.com>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org> # 5.5
Link: https://lore.kernel.org/r/20200306172314.12232-1-minyard@acm.org
[christian.brauner@ubuntu.com: fixup commit message]
Signed-off-by: Christian Brauner <christian.brauner@ubuntu.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
kernel/pid.c | 2 ++
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+)

--- a/kernel/pid.c
+++ b/kernel/pid.c
@@ -247,6 +247,8 @@ struct pid *alloc_pid(struct pid_namespa
tmp = tmp->parent;
}

+ retval = -ENOMEM;
+
if (unlikely(is_child_reaper(pid))) {
if (pid_ns_prepare_proc(ns))
goto out_free;

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-03-17 12:16    [W:0.244 / U:0.504 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site