lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Mar]   [17]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 14/23] perf doc: Set man page date to last git commit
Date
From: Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>

Currently the man page dates reflect the date the man pages were built.
This patch adjusts the date so that the date is when then man page
last had a commit against it. The date is generated using 'git log'.

Committer testing:

$ git log -1 --pretty="format:%cd" --date=short tools/perf/Documentation/perf-top.txt
2020-01-14

Before:

rm -rf /tmp/build/perf
mkdir -p /tmp/build/perf
make -C tools/perf O=/tmp/build/perf/ install
$ date
Wed 11 Mar 2020 10:21:19 AM -03
$ man perf-top | tail -1
perf 03/11/2020 PERF-TOP(1)
$

After:

rm -rf /tmp/build/perf
mkdir -p /tmp/build/perf
make -C tools/perf O=/tmp/build/perf/ install
$ date
$ date
Wed 11 Mar 2020 10:24:06 AM -03
$ man perf-top | tail -1
perf 2020-01-14 PERF-TOP(1)
$

Signed-off-by: Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>
Tested-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Masanari Iida <standby24x7@gmail.com>
Cc: Mukesh Ojha <mojha@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: http://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20200311052110.23132-1-irogers@google.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/Documentation/Makefile | 5 ++++-
1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/Documentation/Makefile b/tools/perf/Documentation/Makefile
index adc5a7e44b98..31824d5269cc 100644
--- a/tools/perf/Documentation/Makefile
+++ b/tools/perf/Documentation/Makefile
@@ -295,7 +295,10 @@ $(OUTPUT)%.1 $(OUTPUT)%.5 $(OUTPUT)%.7 : $(OUTPUT)%.xml
$(OUTPUT)%.xml : %.txt
$(QUIET_ASCIIDOC)$(RM) $@+ $@ && \
$(ASCIIDOC) -b docbook -d manpage \
- $(ASCIIDOC_EXTRA) -aperf_version=$(PERF_VERSION) -o $@+ $< && \
+ $(ASCIIDOC_EXTRA) -aperf_version=$(PERF_VERSION) \
+ -aperf_date=$(shell git log -1 --pretty="format:%cd" \
+ --date=short $<) \
+ -o $@+ $< && \
mv $@+ $@

XSLT = docbook.xsl
--
2.21.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-03-17 22:34    [W:0.073 / U:0.424 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site