lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Mar]   [11]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 1/3] powerpc/numa: Set numa_node for all possible cpus
Date
A Powerpc system with multiple possible nodes and with CONFIG_NUMA
enabled always used to have a node 0, even if node 0 does not any cpus
or memory attached to it. As per PAPR, node affinity of a cpu is only
available once its present / online. For all cpus that are possible but
not present, cpu_to_node() would point to node 0.

To ensure a cpuless, memoryless dummy node is not online, powerpc need
to make sure all possible but not present cpu_to_node are set to a
proper node.

Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill@shutemov.name>
Cc: Christopher Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
---
arch/powerpc/mm/numa.c | 16 ++++++++++++++--
1 file changed, 14 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/powerpc/mm/numa.c b/arch/powerpc/mm/numa.c
index 8a399db..54dcd49 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/mm/numa.c
+++ b/arch/powerpc/mm/numa.c
@@ -931,8 +931,20 @@ void __init mem_topology_setup(void)

reset_numa_cpu_lookup_table();

- for_each_present_cpu(cpu)
- numa_setup_cpu(cpu);
+ for_each_possible_cpu(cpu) {
+ /*
+ * Powerpc with CONFIG_NUMA always used to have a node 0,
+ * even if it was memoryless or cpuless. For all cpus that
+ * are possible but not present, cpu_to_node() would point
+ * to node 0. To remove a cpuless, memoryless dummy node,
+ * powerpc need to make sure all possible but not present
+ * cpu_to_node are set to a proper node.
+ */
+ if (cpu_present(cpu))
+ numa_setup_cpu(cpu);
+ else
+ set_cpu_numa_node(cpu, first_online_node);
+ }
}

void __init initmem_init(void)
--
1.8.3.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-03-11 12:09    [W:0.137 / U:1.852 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site