lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Feb]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip: perf/urgent] perf annotate: Prefer cmdline option over default config
The following commit has been merged into the perf/urgent branch of tip:

Commit-ID: 812b0f528240ab0e6c58911fcfcb61f4ed811ca2
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/812b0f528240ab0e6c58911fcfcb61f4ed811ca2
Author: Ravi Bangoria <ravi.bangoria@linux.ibm.com>
AuthorDate: Thu, 13 Feb 2020 12:13:04 +05:30
Committer: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
CommitterDate: Thu, 27 Feb 2020 10:45:08 -03:00

perf annotate: Prefer cmdline option over default config

For all the perf-config options that can also be set from command line
option, the preference is given to command line version in case of any
conflict. But that's opposite in case of perf annotate. i.e. the more
preference is given to default option rather than command line option.
Fix it.

Before:

$ ./perf config
annotate.show_nr_samples=false

$ ./perf annotate shash --show-nr-samples
Percent│
│24: mov -0xc(%rbp),%eax
49.19 │ imul $0x1003f,%eax,%ecx
│ mov -0x18(%rbp),%rax

After:

Samples│
│24: mov -0xc(%rbp),%eax
1 │ imul $0x1003f,%eax,%ecx
│ mov -0x18(%rbp),%rax

Signed-off-by: Ravi Bangoria <ravi.bangoria@linux.ibm.com>
Tested-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Alexey Budankov <alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Changbin Du <changbin.du@intel.com>
Cc: Ian Rogers <irogers@google.com>
Cc: Jin Yao <yao.jin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Song Liu <songliubraving@fb.com>
Cc: Taeung Song <treeze.taeung@gmail.com>
Cc: Thomas Richter <tmricht@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Yisheng Xie <xieyisheng1@huawei.com>
Link: http://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20200213064306.160480-7-ravi.bangoria@linux.ibm.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/builtin-annotate.c | 4 ++--
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-annotate.c b/tools/perf/builtin-annotate.c
index ea89077..6c0a041 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-annotate.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-annotate.c
@@ -566,6 +566,8 @@ int cmd_annotate(int argc, const char **argv)
if (ret < 0)
return ret;

+ annotation_config__init(&annotate.opts);
+
argc = parse_options(argc, argv, options, annotate_usage, 0);
if (argc) {
/*
@@ -605,8 +607,6 @@ int cmd_annotate(int argc, const char **argv)
if (ret < 0)
goto out_delete;

- annotation_config__init(&annotate.opts);
-
symbol_conf.try_vmlinux_path = true;

ret = symbol__init(&annotate.session->header.env);
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-02-29 10:17    [W:0.086 / U:8.732 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site