lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Feb]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH v5 4/6] driver core: Remove driver_deferred_probe_check_state_continue()
Date
Now that driver_deferred_probe_check_state() works better, and
we've converted the only user of
driver_deferred_probe_check_state_continue() we can simply
remove it and simplify some of the logic.

Cc: Rob Herring <robh@kernel.org>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
Cc: Kevin Hilman <khilman@kernel.org>
Cc: Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@linaro.org>
Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Cc: Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com>
Cc: Saravana Kannan <saravanak@google.com>
Cc: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
Cc: Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>
Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>
Cc: Thierry Reding <treding@nvidia.com>
Cc: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
Reviewed-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
---
drivers/base/dd.c | 53 ++++++-----------------------------
include/linux/device/driver.h | 1 -
2 files changed, 8 insertions(+), 46 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/base/dd.c b/drivers/base/dd.c
index fe26f2574a6d..c09e4e7277d4 100644
--- a/drivers/base/dd.c
+++ b/drivers/base/dd.c
@@ -244,19 +244,6 @@ static int __init deferred_probe_timeout_setup(char *str)
}
__setup("deferred_probe_timeout=", deferred_probe_timeout_setup);

-static int __driver_deferred_probe_check_state(struct device *dev)
-{
- if (!IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_MODULES) && initcalls_done)
- return -ENODEV;
-
- if (!deferred_probe_timeout) {
- dev_WARN(dev, "deferred probe timeout, ignoring dependency");
- return -ETIMEDOUT;
- }
-
- return -EPROBE_DEFER;
-}
-
/**
* driver_deferred_probe_check_state() - Check deferred probe state
* @dev: device to check
@@ -272,39 +259,15 @@ static int __driver_deferred_probe_check_state(struct device *dev)
*/
int driver_deferred_probe_check_state(struct device *dev)
{
- int ret;
-
- ret = __driver_deferred_probe_check_state(dev);
- if (ret != -ENODEV)
- return ret;
-
- dev_warn(dev, "ignoring dependency for device, assuming no driver");
-
- return -ENODEV;
-}
-
-/**
- * driver_deferred_probe_check_state_continue() - check deferred probe state
- * @dev: device to check
- *
- * Returns -ETIMEDOUT if deferred probe debug timeout has expired, or
- * -EPROBE_DEFER otherwise.
- *
- * Drivers or subsystems can opt-in to calling this function instead of
- * directly returning -EPROBE_DEFER.
- *
- * This is similar to driver_deferred_probe_check_state(), but it allows the
- * subsystem to keep deferring probe after built-in drivers have had a chance
- * to probe. One scenario where that is useful is if built-in drivers rely on
- * resources that are provided by modular drivers.
- */
-int driver_deferred_probe_check_state_continue(struct device *dev)
-{
- int ret;
+ if (!IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_MODULES) && initcalls_done) {
+ dev_warn(dev, "ignoring dependency for device, assuming no driver");
+ return -ENODEV;
+ }

- ret = __driver_deferred_probe_check_state(dev);
- if (ret != -ENODEV)
- return ret;
+ if (!deferred_probe_timeout) {
+ dev_WARN(dev, "deferred probe timeout, ignoring dependency");
+ return -ETIMEDOUT;
+ }

return -EPROBE_DEFER;
}
diff --git a/include/linux/device/driver.h b/include/linux/device/driver.h
index 1188260f9a02..5242afabfaba 100644
--- a/include/linux/device/driver.h
+++ b/include/linux/device/driver.h
@@ -238,7 +238,6 @@ driver_find_device_by_acpi_dev(struct device_driver *drv, const void *adev)

void driver_deferred_probe_add(struct device *dev);
int driver_deferred_probe_check_state(struct device *dev);
-int driver_deferred_probe_check_state_continue(struct device *dev);
void driver_init(void);

/**
--
2.17.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-02-25 06:09    [W:0.134 / U:0.308 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site