lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Feb]   [12]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH v3 2/7] arm64: trap to EL1 accesses to AMU counters from EL0
From
Date
On 11/02/2020 18:45, Ionela Voinescu wrote:
> The activity monitors extension is an optional extension introduced
> by the ARMv8.4 CPU architecture. In order to access the activity
> monitors counters safely, if desired, the kernel should detect the
> presence of the extension through the feature register, and mediate
> the access.
>
> Therefore, disable direct accesses to activity monitors counters
> from EL0 (userspace) and trap them to EL1 (kernel).
>
> To be noted that the ARM64_AMU_EXTN kernel config and the disable_amu
> kernel parameter do not have an effect on this code. Given that the
> amuserenr_el0 resets to an UNKNOWN value, setting the trap of EL0
> accesses to EL1 is always attempted for safety and security
> considerations. Therefore firmware should still ensure accesses to
> AMU registers are not trapped in EL2/EL3 as this code cannot be
> bypassed if the CPU implements the Activity Monitors Unit.
>
> Signed-off-by: Ionela Voinescu <ionela.voinescu@arm.com>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>
> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Cc: Steve Capper <steve.capper@arm.com>
> ---

Reviewed-by: Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-02-12 12:46    [W:0.350 / U:0.232 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site