lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Nov]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 00/13 v4] perf tools: fix perf stat with large socket IDs
On Fri, Nov 13, 2020 at 07:26:41PM +0200, James Clark wrote:
> v3 had a mistake in a couple of my signed off lines so I have fixed them
> in v4.
>
> v3 breaks up the previous v2 patchset into smaller atomic commits.
> The end result is the same as the previous patchset apart from
> some minor refactoring, asserting on an empty header and
> calling cpu__setup_cpunode_map() in the topology self test.
>
> Testing done:
>
> Tested --per-core, --per-thread, --per-die, --per-node 'perf
> stat' outputs on Arm ThunderX2 and Intel KNL.
>
> Also tested 'perf stat record' and 'perf stat report --input'
> with recordings from a version of perf before this patchset
> to confirm that the output was the same.
>
> Signed-off-by: James Clark <james.clark@arm.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
> Cc: Thomas Richter <tmricht@linux.ibm.com>
> Cc: John Garry <john.garry@huawei.com>
>
> James Clark (13):
> perf tools: Improve topology test
> perf tools: Use allocator for perf_cpu_map
> perf tools: Add new struct for cpu aggregation
> perf tools: Replace aggregation ID with a struct
> perf tools: add new map type for aggregation
> perf tools: drop in cpu_aggr_map struct
> perf tools: restrict visibility of functions
> perf tools: Start using cpu_aggr_id in map
> perf tools: Add separate node member
> perf tools: Add separate socket member
> perf tools: Add separate die member
> perf tools: Add separate core member
> perf tools: add thread field

I sent few comments but overall looks good

Stephane, Andi, could you take a look, please?

thanks,
jirka

>
> tools/perf/builtin-stat.c | 128 +++++++++++++------------
> tools/perf/tests/topology.c | 58 +++++++++--
> tools/perf/util/cpumap.c | 170 ++++++++++++++++++++++-----------
> tools/perf/util/cpumap.h | 55 ++++++-----
> tools/perf/util/stat-display.c | 106 +++++++++++---------
> tools/perf/util/stat.c | 2 +-
> tools/perf/util/stat.h | 9 +-
> 7 files changed, 332 insertions(+), 196 deletions(-)
>
> --
> 2.28.0
>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-11-15 22:20    [W:0.104 / U:2.216 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site