lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Oct]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH 1/2] perf stat: Fix segfault when counting armv8_pmu events
Date


> -----Original Message-----
> From: Jiri Olsa [mailto:jolsa@redhat.com]
> Sent: Friday, October 2, 2020 10:00 PM
> To: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>; liwei (GF)
> <liwei391@huawei.com>
> Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>; Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>;
> Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>; Alexey Budankov
> <alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com>; Adrian Hunter
> <adrian.hunter@intel.com>; Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>;
> linux-kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>; Peter Zijlstra
> <peterz@infradead.org>; Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>; Libin (Huawei)
> <huawei.libin@huawei.com>; Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>;
> linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
> Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/2] perf stat: Fix segfault when counting armv8_pmu
> events
>
> On Thu, Sep 24, 2020 at 11:36:23PM +0900, Namhyung Kim wrote:
> > On Wed, Sep 23, 2020 at 10:19:00PM +0200, Jiri Olsa wrote:
> > > On Wed, Sep 23, 2020 at 11:15:06PM +0900, Namhyung Kim wrote:
> > > > I think the problem is that armv8_pmu has a cpumask,
> > > > and the user requested per-task events.
> > > >
> > > > The code tried to open the event with a dummy cpu map
> > > > since it's not a cpu event, but the pmu has cpu map and
> > > > it's passed to evsel. So there's confusion somewhere
> > > > whether it should use evsel->cpus or a dummy map.
> > >
> > > you're right, I have following cpus file in pmu:
> > >
> > > # cat /sys/devices/armv8_pmuv3_0/cpus
> > > 0-3
> > >
> > > covering all the cpus.. and once you have cpumask/cpus file,
> > > you're system wide by default in current code, but we should
> > > not crash ;-)
> > >
> > > I tried to cover this case in patch below and I probably broke
> > > some other use cases, but perhaps we could allow to open counters
> > > per cpus for given workload
> > >
> > > I'll try to look at this more tomorrow
> >
> > I'm thinking about a different approach, we can ignore cpu map
> > for the ARM cpu PMU and use the dummy, not tested ;-)
> >
> > Thanks
> > Namhyung
> >
> >
> > diff --git a/tools/lib/perf/evlist.c b/tools/lib/perf/evlist.c
> > index 2208444ecb44..cfcdbd7be066 100644
> > --- a/tools/lib/perf/evlist.c
> > +++ b/tools/lib/perf/evlist.c
> > @@ -45,6 +45,9 @@ static void __perf_evlist__propagate_maps(struct
> perf_evlist *evlist,
> > if (!evsel->own_cpus || evlist->has_user_cpus) {
> > perf_cpu_map__put(evsel->cpus);
> > evsel->cpus = perf_cpu_map__get(evlist->cpus);
> > + } else if (!evsel->system_wide &&
> perf_cpu_map__empty(evlist->cpus)) {
> > + perf_cpu_map__put(evsel->cpus);
> > + evsel->cpus = perf_cpu_map__get(evlist->cpus);
> > } else if (evsel->cpus != evsel->own_cpus) {
> > perf_cpu_map__put(evsel->cpus);
> > evsel->cpus = perf_cpu_map__get(evsel->own_cpus);
> >
>
> Wei Li,
> is this fixing your problem?

As I have seen the same crash and suggested another patch:
[PATCH] perf evlist: fix memory corruption for Kernel PMU event
https://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20201001115729.27116-1-song.bao.hua@hisilicon.com/

Also, I have tested Namhyung Kim's patch on ARM64. It does fix the crash for me. So:
Tested-by: Barry Song <song.bao.hua@hisilicon.com>

Please put the below fixes-tag in commit log:
Fixes: 7736627b865d ("perf stat: Use affinity for closing file descriptors")

Thanks
Barry

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-10-06 08:52    [W:0.062 / U:1.176 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site