lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Jan]   [7]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 08/20] tools lib api fs: Fix gcc9 stringop-truncation compilation error
On Mon 2020-01-06 13:06:53, Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo wrote:
> From: Andrey Zhizhikin <andrey.z@gmail.com>
>
> GCC9 introduced string hardening mechanisms, which exhibits the error
> during fs api compilation:
>
> error: '__builtin_strncpy' specified bound 4096 equals destination size
> [-Werror=stringop-truncation]
>
> This comes when the length of copy passed to strncpy is is equal to
> destination size, which could potentially lead to buffer overflow.
>
> There is a need to mitigate this potential issue by limiting the size of
> destination by 1 and explicitly terminate the destination with NULL.
>
> Signed-off-by: Andrey Zhizhikin <andrey.zhizhikin@leica-geosystems.com>
> Reviewed-by: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
> Acked-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
> Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>
> Cc: Andrii Nakryiko <andriin@fb.com>
> Cc: Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>
> Cc: Kefeng Wang <wangkefeng.wang@huawei.com>
> Cc: Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@fb.com>
> Cc: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>
> Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>
> Cc: Song Liu <songliubraving@fb.com>
> Cc: Yonghong Song <yhs@fb.com>
> Cc: bpf@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org
> Link: http://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20191211080109.18765-1-andrey.zhizhikin@leica-geosystems.com
> Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>

Reviewed-by: Petr Mladek <pmladek@suse.com>

Best Regards,
Petr

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-01-07 10:17    [W:0.149 / U:0.052 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site