lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Jan]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v2] usb: dwc3: gadget: Check for IOC/LST bit in TRB->ctrl fields
Date

Hi,

John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org> writes:
> From: Anurag Kumar Vulisha <anurag.kumar.vulisha@xilinx.com>
>
> The current code in dwc3_gadget_ep_reclaim_completed_trb() will
> check for IOC/LST bit in the event->status and returns if
> IOC/LST bit is set. This logic doesn't work if multiple TRBs
> are queued per request and the IOC/LST bit is set on the last
> TRB of that request.
>
> Consider an example where a queued request has multiple queued
> TRBs and IOC/LST bit is set only for the last TRB. In this case,
> the core generates XferComplete/XferInProgress events only for
> the last TRB (since IOC/LST are set only for the last TRB). As
> per the logic in dwc3_gadget_ep_reclaim_completed_trb()
> event->status is checked for IOC/LST bit and returns on the
> first TRB. This leaves the remaining TRBs left unhandled.
>
> Similarly, if the gadget function enqueues an unaligned request
> with sglist already in it, it should fail the same way, since we
> will append another TRB to something that already uses more than
> one TRB.
>
> To aviod this, this patch changes the code to check for IOC/LST
> bits in TRB->ctrl instead.
>
> At a practical level, this patch resolves USB transfer stalls seen
> with adb on dwc3 based HiKey960 after functionfs gadget added
> scatter-gather support around v4.20.
>
> Cc: Felipe Balbi <balbi@kernel.org>
> Cc: Yang Fei <fei.yang@intel.com>
> Cc: Thinh Nguyen <thinhn@synopsys.com>
> Cc: Tejas Joglekar <tejas.joglekar@synopsys.com>
> Cc: Andrzej Pietrasiewicz <andrzej.p@collabora.com>
> Cc: Jack Pham <jackp@codeaurora.org>
> Cc: Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com>
> Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> Cc: Linux USB List <linux-usb@vger.kernel.org>
> Cc: stable <stable@vger.kernel.org>
> Tested-by: Tejas Joglekar <tejas.joglekar@synopsys.com>
> Reviewed-by: Thinh Nguyen <thinhn@synopsys.com>
> Signed-off-by: Anurag Kumar Vulisha <anurag.kumar.vulisha@xilinx.com>
> [jstultz: forward ported to mainline, reworded commit log, reworked
> to only check trb->ctrl as suggested by Felipe]
> Signed-off-by: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>

since v5.5 is already merged, I'll send this to Greg once -rc1 is
tagged. It's already in my testing/fixes branch waiting for a pull
request.

cheers

--
balbi
[unhandled content-type:application/pgp-signature]
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-01-29 08:23    [W:0.110 / U:0.480 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site