lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2020]   [Jan]   [24]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.19 447/639] perf/ioctl: Add check for the sample_period value
Date
From: Ravi Bangoria <ravi.bangoria@linux.ibm.com>

[ Upstream commit 913a90bc5a3a06b1f04c337320e9aeee2328dd77 ]

perf_event_open() limits the sample_period to 63 bits. See:

0819b2e30ccb ("perf: Limit perf_event_attr::sample_period to 63 bits")

Make ioctl() consistent with it.

Also on PowerPC, negative sample_period could cause a recursive
PMIs leading to a hang (reported when running perf-fuzzer).

Signed-off-by: Ravi Bangoria <ravi.bangoria@linux.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Cc: acme@kernel.org
Cc: linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org
Cc: maddy@linux.vnet.ibm.com
Cc: mpe@ellerman.id.au
Fixes: 0819b2e30ccb ("perf: Limit perf_event_attr::sample_period to 63 bits")
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190604042953.914-1-ravi.bangoria@linux.ibm.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
kernel/events/core.c | 3 +++
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+)

diff --git a/kernel/events/core.c b/kernel/events/core.c
index 751888cbed5c0..16af86ab24c42 100644
--- a/kernel/events/core.c
+++ b/kernel/events/core.c
@@ -5012,6 +5012,9 @@ static int perf_event_period(struct perf_event *event, u64 __user *arg)
if (perf_event_check_period(event, value))
return -EINVAL;

+ if (!event->attr.freq && (value & (1ULL << 63)))
+ return -EINVAL;
+
event_function_call(event, __perf_event_period, &value);

return 0;
--
2.20.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2020-01-24 12:40    [W:1.503 / U:7.032 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site