lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Sep]   [9]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: linux-next: Signed-off-by missing for commit in the pci tree
Date


> -----Original Message-----
> From: Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>
> Sent: Wednesday, August 21, 2019 5:03 AM
> To: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
> Cc: Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@google.com>; Linux Next Mailing List <linux-
> next@vger.kernel.org>; Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-
> kernel@vger.kernel.org>; Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>; Haiyang Zhang
> <haiyangz@microsoft.com>
> Subject: Re: linux-next: Signed-off-by missing for commit in the pci tree
>
> On Wed, Aug 21, 2019 at 07:19:39AM +1000, Stephen Rothwell wrote:
> > Hi all,
> >
> > Commit
> >
> > c4a29fbba415 ("PCI: hv: Use bytes 4 and 5 from instance ID as the PCI
> domain numbers")
> >
> > is missing a Signed-off-by from its committer.
> >
> > Also, all the tags should be kept together, please.
>
> Fixed it up in my pci/hv branch, apologies.
>
> Lorenzo

Hi thanks for fixing this, but I found the following commit now has the Subject line
and commit message same as a previous patch.

https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/next/linux-next.git/commit/drivers?id=87b20a08dcc265959f5c59f18603ea0487fe609b

The correct message for the patch should be the msg below. Any possibility to
fix it again? Thanks.
- Haiyang

Subject: PCI: hv: Use bytes 4 and 5 from instance ID as the PCI domain numbers

As recommended by Azure host team, the bytes 4, 5 have more uniqueness
(info entropy) than bytes 8, 9. So now we use bytes 4, 5 as the PCI domain
numbers. On older hosts, bytes 4, 5 can also be used -- no backward
compatibility issues here. The chance of collision is greatly reduced.

In the rare cases of collision, the driver code detects and finds another
number that is not in use.

Suggested-by: Michael Kelley <mikelley@microsoft.com>
Signed-off-by: Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com>
Acked-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-09-10 01:11    [W:0.101 / U:8.052 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site