lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Sep]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH v2] scripts: coccinelle: check for !(un)?likely usage
From
Date
Hi,

On 06.09.2019 23:19, Julia Lawall wrote:
>
>
> On Thu, 29 Aug 2019, Denis Efremov wrote:
>
>> This patch adds coccinelle script for detecting !likely and
>> !unlikely usage. These notations are confusing. It's better
>> to replace !likely(x) with unlikely(!x) and !unlikely(x) with
>> likely(!x) for readability.
>>
>> The rule transforms !likely(x) to unlikely(!x) based on this logic:
>> !likely(x) iff
>> !__builtin_expect(!!(x), 1) iff
>> __builtin_expect(!!!(x), 0) iff
>> unlikely(!x)
>>
>> For !unlikely(x) to likely(!x):
>> !unlikely(x) iff
>> !__builtin_expect(!!(x), 0) iff
>> __builtin_expect(!!!(x), 1) iff
>> likely(!x)
>>
>> Signed-off-by: Denis Efremov <efremov@linux.com>
>> Cc: Julia Lawall <Julia.Lawall@lip6.fr>
>> Cc: Gilles Muller <Gilles.Muller@lip6.fr>
>> Cc: Nicolas Palix <nicolas.palix@imag.fr>
>> Cc: Michal Marek <michal.lkml@markovi.net>
>> Cc: Markus Elfring <Markus.Elfring@web.de>
>> Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
>> Cc: Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>
>
> Acked-by: Julia Lawall <julia.lawall@lip6.fr>
>
> A small improvement though would be to improve the explicit dependency of
> the last four python rules on r1 and r2. Those rules won't execute unless
> the inherited metavariable has a value, which makes the same dependency.
>
> julia

I think I will resend this patch as a part of patchset with all warnings fixed
in a couple of days. Hope this will help to create a discussion point with other
developers about readability of "!likely" and "!unlikely".

Thanks,
Denis

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-09-06 22:56    [W:0.081 / U:2.788 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site