lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Sep]   [6]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [RFC PATCH 3/4] Cleanup: sched/membarrier: only sync_core before usermode for same mm
On Thu, Sep 05, 2019 at 11:12:59PM -0400, Mathieu Desnoyers wrote:
> When the prev and next task's mm change, switch_mm() provides the core
> serializing guarantees before returning to usermode. The only case
> where an explicit core serialization is needed is when the scheduler
> keeps the same mm for prev and next.
>
> Suggested-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
> Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
> Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.ibm.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
> Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Russell King - ARM Linux admin <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
> Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@ezchip.com>
> Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
> Cc: Kirill Tkhai <tkhai@yandex.ru>
> Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> ---
> include/linux/sched/mm.h | 2 ++
> 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+)
>
> diff --git a/include/linux/sched/mm.h b/include/linux/sched/mm.h
> index 4a7944078cc3..8557ec664213 100644
> --- a/include/linux/sched/mm.h
> +++ b/include/linux/sched/mm.h
> @@ -362,6 +362,8 @@ enum {
>
> static inline void membarrier_mm_sync_core_before_usermode(struct mm_struct *mm)
> {
> + if (current->mm != mm)
> + return;
> if (likely(!(atomic_read(&mm->membarrier_state) &
> MEMBARRIER_STATE_PRIVATE_EXPEDITED_SYNC_CORE)))
> return;

So SYNC_CORE is about I$ coherency and funny thing like that. Now it
seems 'natural' that if we flip the address space, that I$ also gets
wiped/updated, because the whole text mapping changes.

But did we just assume that, or did we verify the truth of this? (I'm
just being paranoid here)

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-09-06 09:42    [W:0.081 / U:0.012 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site