lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Sep]   [26]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH] ACPICA: make acpi_load_table() return table index
On Wed, Sep 25, 2019 at 09:13:34PM +0300, Schmauss, Erik wrote:
> > -----Original Message-----
> > From: Ferry Toth <ftoth@telfort.nl>
> > Sent: Thursday, September 12, 2019 12:37 PM
> > To: Moore, Robert <robert.moore@intel.com>; Nikolaus Voss
> > <nikolaus.voss@loewensteinmedical.de>; Shevchenko, Andriy
> > <andriy.shevchenko@intel.com>; Schmauss, Erik <erik.schmauss@intel.com>;
> > Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
> > Cc: Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>; Jacek Anaszewski
> > <jacek.anaszewski@gmail.com>; Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>; Dan Murphy
> > <dmurphy@ti.com>; linux-acpi@vger.kernel.org; devel@acpica.org; linux-
> > kernel@vger.kernel.org; nv@vosn.de
> > Subject: Re: [PATCH] ACPICA: make acpi_load_table() return table index
> >
> > Op 12-09-19 om 16:19 schreef Moore, Robert:
> > > Nikolaus,
> > > The ability to unload an ACPI table (especially AML tables such as SSDTs) is in
> > the process of being deprecated in ACPICA -- since it is also deprecated in the
> > current ACPI specification. This is being done because of the difficulty of
> > deleting the namespace entries for the table. FYI, Windows does not properly
> > support this function either.
> >
> > I really hope this is not the case. On x86 loading/unloading SSDTs has proven to
> > be a powerful way to handle reconfigurable hardware without rebooting and
> > without requiring dedicated platform drivers. Same for user plugable hardware
> > on i2c/spi busses.
> >
> > This has worked before and will violate the "don't break user space" rule.
>
> If the table index wasn't being used, how did this work before?
> Which commit broke this?
>
> Bob and I are trying to understand if this is a regression or a new feature request...

It is a regression as I explained in my bisecting message.

Before it uses acpi_tb_* API directly.
I thought Bob already got the idea.

--
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-09-26 10:10    [W:0.053 / U:2.304 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site