lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Sep]   [26]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectAck to merge through DRM? WAS Re: [PATCH v2 1/5] mm: Add write-protect and clean utilities for address space ranges
From
Date
On 9/26/19 1:55 PM, Thomas Hellström (VMware) wrote:
> From: Thomas Hellstrom <thellstrom@vmware.com>
>
> Add two utilities to a) write-protect and b) clean all ptes pointing into
> a range of an address space.
> The utilities are intended to aid in tracking dirty pages (either
> driver-allocated system memory or pci device memory).
> The write-protect utility should be used in conjunction with
> page_mkwrite() and pfn_mkwrite() to trigger write page-faults on page
> accesses. Typically one would want to use this on sparse accesses into
> large memory regions. The clean utility should be used to utilize
> hardware dirtying functionality and avoid the overhead of page-faults,
> typically on large accesses into small memory regions.
>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@surriel.com>
> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
> Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
> Cc: Souptick Joarder <jrdr.linux@gmail.com>
> Cc: "Jérôme Glisse" <jglisse@redhat.com>
> Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
>
> Signed-off-by: Thomas Hellstrom <thellstrom@vmware.com>
> Reviewed-by: Ralph Campbell <rcampbell@nvidia.com>
> ---

Hi!

I wonder if I can get an ack from an mm maintainer to merge this through
DRM along with the vmwgfx patches? Andrew? Matthew?

Thanks,
Thomas



\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-09-26 14:05    [W:0.086 / U:10.956 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site