lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Sep]   [26]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH v9 1/3] arm64: cpufeature: introduce helper cpu_has_hw_af()
Date
Hi Catalin

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Sent: 2019年9月25日 22:38
> To: Justin He (Arm Technology China) <Justin.He@arm.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will@kernel.org>; Mark Rutland
> <Mark.Rutland@arm.com>; James Morse <James.Morse@arm.com>; Marc
> Zyngier <maz@kernel.org>; Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>; Kirill A.
> Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>; linux-arm-
> kernel@lists.infradead.org; linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org; linux-
> mm@kvack.org; Suzuki Poulose <Suzuki.Poulose@arm.com>; Punit
> Agrawal <punitagrawal@gmail.com>; Anshuman Khandual
> <Anshuman.Khandual@arm.com>; Alex Van Brunt
> <avanbrunt@nvidia.com>; Robin Murphy <Robin.Murphy@arm.com>;
> Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>; Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-
> foundation.org>; Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>; Ralph Campbell
> <rcampbell@nvidia.com>; hejianet@gmail.com; Kaly Xin (Arm Technology
> China) <Kaly.Xin@arm.com>; nd <nd@arm.com>
> Subject: Re: [PATCH v9 1/3] arm64: cpufeature: introduce helper
> cpu_has_hw_af()
>
> On Wed, Sep 25, 2019 at 10:59:20AM +0800, Jia He wrote:
> > We unconditionally set the HW_AFDBM capability and only enable it on
> > CPUs which really have the feature. But sometimes we need to know
> > whether this cpu has the capability of HW AF. So decouple AF from
> > DBM by new helper cpu_has_hw_af().
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Jia He <justin.he@arm.com>
> > Suggested-by: Suzuki Poulose <Suzuki.Poulose@arm.com>
> > Reported-by: kbuild test robot <lkp@intel.com>
>
> Which bug did the kbuild robot actually report? I'd drop this line.
>
This line is added due to [1]:
"If you fix the issue, kindly add following tag
Reported-by: kbuild test robot <lkp@intel.com>"

Yes, I know your concern, it is a little bit confusing. But I don't know
how to distinguish the case btw a) original bug report b) bug report
of my patch implementation? Thanks for any suggestion.

[1] https://www.lkml.org/lkml/2019/9/18/940


--
Cheers,
Justin (Jia He)


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-09-26 11:24    [W:1.320 / U:0.004 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site