lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Sep]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 06/66] perf list: Allow plurals for metric, metricgroup
Date
From: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>

Enhance usability by allowing the same plurality used in the output
title, for the command line parameter.

BEFORE, perf deceitfully acts as if there are no metrics to be had:

$ perf list metrics

List of pre-defined events (to be used in -e):

Metric Groups:

$

But singular 'metric' shows a list of metrics:

$ perf list metric

List of pre-defined events (to be used in -e):

Metrics:

IPC
[Instructions Per Cycle (per logical thread)]
UPI
[Uops Per Instruction]

AFTER, when asking for 'metrics', we actually see the metrics get listed:

$ perf list metrics

List of pre-defined events (to be used in -e):

Metrics:

IPC
[Instructions Per Cycle (per logical thread)]
UPI
[Uops Per Instruction]

Fixes: 71b0acce78d1 ("perf list: Add metric groups to perf list")
Signed-off-by: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>
Reviewed-by: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Tested-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Janakarajan Natarajan <janakarajan.natarajan@amd.com>
Cc: Jin Yao <yao.jin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Luke Mujica <lukemujica@google.com>
Cc: Martin Liška <mliska@suse.cz>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Link: http://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20190919204306.12598-4-kim.phillips@amd.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/builtin-list.c | 4 ++--
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-list.c b/tools/perf/builtin-list.c
index e290f6b348d8..08e62ae9d37e 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-list.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-list.c
@@ -81,9 +81,9 @@ int cmd_list(int argc, const char **argv)
long_desc_flag, details_flag);
else if (strcmp(argv[i], "sdt") == 0)
print_sdt_events(NULL, NULL, raw_dump);
- else if (strcmp(argv[i], "metric") == 0)
+ else if (strcmp(argv[i], "metric") == 0 || strcmp(argv[i], "metrics") == 0)
metricgroup__print(true, false, NULL, raw_dump, details_flag);
- else if (strcmp(argv[i], "metricgroup") == 0)
+ else if (strcmp(argv[i], "metricgroup") == 0 || strcmp(argv[i], "metricgroups") == 0)
metricgroup__print(false, true, NULL, raw_dump, details_flag);
else if ((sep = strchr(argv[i], ':')) != NULL) {
int sep_idx;
--
2.21.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-09-26 02:34    [W:0.188 / U:0.304 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site