lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Sep]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 05/66] perf vendor events: Minor fixes to the README
Date
From: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>

Some grammatical fixes, and updates to some path references that have
since changed.

Signed-off-by: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>
Reviewed-by: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Janakarajan Natarajan <janakarajan.natarajan@amd.com>
Cc: Jin Yao <yao.jin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Luke Mujica <lukemujica@google.com>
Cc: Martin Liška <mliska@suse.cz>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Link: http://lore.kernel.org/lkml/20190919204306.12598-3-kim.phillips@amd.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/pmu-events/README | 22 +++++++++++-----------
1 file changed, 11 insertions(+), 11 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/pmu-events/README b/tools/perf/pmu-events/README
index e62b09b6a844..de7efa2cebd1 100644
--- a/tools/perf/pmu-events/README
+++ b/tools/perf/pmu-events/README
@@ -30,9 +30,9 @@ the topic. Eg: "Floating-point.json".
All the topic JSON files for a CPU model/family should be in a separate
sub directory. Thus for the Silvermont X86 CPU:

- $ ls tools/perf/pmu-events/arch/x86/Silvermont_core
- Cache.json Memory.json Virtual-Memory.json
- Frontend.json Pipeline.json
+ $ ls tools/perf/pmu-events/arch/x86/silvermont
+ cache.json memory.json virtual-memory.json
+ frontend.json pipeline.json

The JSONs folder for a CPU model/family may be placed in the root arch
folder, or may be placed in a vendor sub-folder under the arch folder
@@ -94,7 +94,7 @@ users to specify events by their name:

where 'pm_1plus_ppc_cmpl' is a Power8 PMU event.

-However some errors in processing may cause the perf build to fail.
+However some errors in processing may cause the alias build to fail.

Mapfile format
===============
@@ -119,7 +119,7 @@ where:

Header line
The header line is the first line in the file, which is
- always _IGNORED_. It can empty.
+ always _IGNORED_. It can be empty.

CPUID:
CPUID is an arch-specific char string, that can be used
@@ -138,15 +138,15 @@ where:
files, relative to the directory containing the mapfile.csv

Type:
- indicates whether the events or "core" or "uncore" events.
+ indicates whether the events are "core" or "uncore" events.


Eg:

- $ grep Silvermont tools/perf/pmu-events/arch/x86/mapfile.csv
- GenuineIntel-6-37,V13,Silvermont_core,core
- GenuineIntel-6-4D,V13,Silvermont_core,core
- GenuineIntel-6-4C,V13,Silvermont_core,core
+ $ grep silvermont tools/perf/pmu-events/arch/x86/mapfile.csv
+ GenuineIntel-6-37,v13,silvermont,core
+ GenuineIntel-6-4D,v13,silvermont,core
+ GenuineIntel-6-4C,v13,silvermont,core

i.e the three CPU models use the JSON files (i.e PMU events) listed
- in the directory 'tools/perf/pmu-events/arch/x86/Silvermont_core'.
+ in the directory 'tools/perf/pmu-events/arch/x86/silvermont'.
--
2.21.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-09-26 02:34    [W:0.152 / U:4.296 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site