lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Sep]   [23]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [RFC PATCH v3 4/6] psci: Add hvc call service for ptp_kvm.
Date
Hi Paolo, Marc

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
> Sent: Thursday, September 19, 2019 7:07 PM
> To: Jianyong Wu (Arm Technology China) <Jianyong.Wu@arm.com>;
> netdev@vger.kernel.org; yangbo.lu@nxp.com; john.stultz@linaro.org;
> tglx@linutronix.de; sean.j.christopherson@intel.com; maz@kernel.org;
> richardcochran@gmail.com; Mark Rutland <Mark.Rutland@arm.com>; Will
> Deacon <Will.Deacon@arm.com>; Suzuki Poulose
> <Suzuki.Poulose@arm.com>
> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org; kvm@vger.kernel.org; Steve Capper
> <Steve.Capper@arm.com>; Kaly Xin (Arm Technology China)
> <Kaly.Xin@arm.com>; Justin He (Arm Technology China)
> <Justin.He@arm.com>; nd <nd@arm.com>; linux-arm-
> kernel@lists.infradead.org
> Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH v3 4/6] psci: Add hvc call service for ptp_kvm.
>
> On 19/09/19 11:46, Jianyong Wu (Arm Technology China) wrote:
> >> On 18/09/19 11:57, Jianyong Wu (Arm Technology China) wrote:
> >>> Paolo Bonzini wrote:
> >>>> This is not Y2038-safe. Please use ktime_get_real_ts64 instead,
> >>>> and split the 64-bit seconds value between val[0] and val[1].
> >
> > Val[] should be long not u32 I think, so in arm64 I can avoid that
> > Y2038_safe, but also need rewrite for arm32.
>
> I don't think there's anything inherently wrong with u32 val[], and as you
> notice it lets you reuse code between arm and arm64. It's up to you and
> Marc to decide.
>
To compatible 32-bit, Integrates second value and nanosecond value as a nanosecond value then split it into val[0] and val[1] and split cycle value into val[2] and val[3],
In this way, time will overflow at Y2262.
WDYT?

Thanks
Jianyong Wu

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-09-23 06:59    [W:0.202 / U:3.368 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site