lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Sep]   [22]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 4.19 051/128] perf ftrace: Use CAP_SYS_ADMIN instead of euid==0
Date
From: Igor Lubashev <ilubashe@akamai.com>

[ Upstream commit c766f3df635de14295e410c6dd5410bc416c24a0 ]

The kernel requires CAP_SYS_ADMIN instead of euid==0 to mount debugfs
for ftrace. Make perf do the same.

Signed-off-by: Igor Lubashev <ilubashe@akamai.com>
Acked-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Alexey Budankov <alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Cc: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Suzuki Poulouse <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>
Cc: linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/bd8763b72ed4d58d0b42d44fbc7eb474d32e53a3.1565188228.git.ilubashe@akamai.com
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
tools/perf/builtin-ftrace.c | 4 +++-
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/builtin-ftrace.c b/tools/perf/builtin-ftrace.c
index 137955197ba8d..e0c61c572db06 100644
--- a/tools/perf/builtin-ftrace.c
+++ b/tools/perf/builtin-ftrace.c
@@ -14,6 +14,7 @@
#include <signal.h>
#include <fcntl.h>
#include <poll.h>
+#include <linux/capability.h>

#include "debug.h"
#include <subcmd/parse-options.h>
@@ -22,6 +23,7 @@
#include "target.h"
#include "cpumap.h"
#include "thread_map.h"
+#include "util/cap.h"
#include "util/config.h"


@@ -282,7 +284,7 @@ static int __cmd_ftrace(struct perf_ftrace *ftrace, int argc, const char **argv)
.events = POLLIN,
};

- if (geteuid() != 0) {
+ if (!perf_cap__capable(CAP_SYS_ADMIN)) {
pr_err("ftrace only works for root!\n");
return -1;
}
--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-09-22 21:20    [W:0.480 / U:0.928 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site