lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Aug]   [2]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH] mailmap: add entry for Jaegeuk Kim
From
Date
On 2019-8-2 21:26, Jonathan Corbet wrote:
> On Fri, 2 Aug 2019 09:21:35 +0800
> Chao Yu <yuchao0@huawei.com> wrote:
>
>> Add entry to connect all Jaegeuk's email addresses.
>>
>> Acked-by: Jaegeuk Kim <jaegeuk@kernel.org>
>> Signed-off-by: Chao Yu <yuchao0@huawei.com>
>> ---
>> .mailmap | 3 +++
>> 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+)
>>
>> diff --git a/.mailmap b/.mailmap
>> index 477debe3d960..70d41c86e644 100644
>> --- a/.mailmap
>> +++ b/.mailmap
>> @@ -89,6 +89,9 @@ Henrik Kretzschmar <henne@nachtwindheim.de>
>> Henrik Rydberg <rydberg@bitmath.org>
>> Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>
>> Jacob Shin <Jacob.Shin@amd.com>
>> +Jaegeuk Kim <jaegeuk@kernel.org> <jaegeuk@google.com>
>> +Jaegeuk Kim <jaegeuk@kernel.org> <jaegeuk@motorola.com>
>> +Jaegeuk Kim <jaegeuk@kernel.org> <jaegeuk.kim@samsung.com>
>
> So as I understand it, the mailmap file is there mostly to ensure that a
> person's changesets are properly collected in 'git shortlog' and such. As
> documented on the man page, it is used when a person's name is spelled
> differently at different times.
>
> That doesn't appear to be the case here, and shortlog output is correct
> already. Given that, do we *really* need to maintain a collection of old
> email addresses in the mailmap file? What is the benefit of that?

IMO, when we use git-blame to find out who is response for specified code, w/o
mailmap we may just found old obsolete email address in the related commit; even
we can search full name for his/her new email address, how can we make sure they
are the same person... so anyway, it can help to find last valid/canonical email
address of someone.

Thanks,

>
> Thanks,
>
> jon
>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-08-02 16:25    [W:0.064 / U:6.740 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site