lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Aug]   [2]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 4.19 27/42] perf tools: Fix proper buffer size for feature processing
Date
From: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>

[ Upstream commit 79b2fe5e756163897175a8f57d66b26cd9befd59 ]

After Song Liu's segfault fix for pipe mode, Arnaldo reported following
error:

# perf record -o - | perf script
0x514 [0x1ac]: failed to process type: 80

It's caused by wrong buffer size setup in feature processing, which
makes cpu topology feature fail, because it's using buffer size to
recognize its header version.

Reported-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Tested-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David Carrillo-Cisneros <davidcc@google.com>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Song Liu <songliubraving@fb.com>
Fixes: e9def1b2e74e ("perf tools: Add feature header record to pipe-mode")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190715140426.32509-1-jolsa@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
tools/perf/util/header.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/util/header.c b/tools/perf/util/header.c
index 7f2e3b1c746c9..a94bd6850a0b2 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/header.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/header.c
@@ -3472,7 +3472,7 @@ int perf_event__process_feature(struct perf_tool *tool,
return 0;

ff.buf = (void *)fe->data;
- ff.size = event->header.size - sizeof(event->header);
+ ff.size = event->header.size - sizeof(*fe);
ff.ph = &session->header;

if (feat_ops[feat].process(&ff, NULL))
--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-08-02 15:25    [W:0.174 / U:1.032 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site