lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jul]   [30]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [RFC][PATCH 02/13] stop_machine: Fix stop_cpus_in_progress ordering
On Fri, Jul 26, 2019 at 04:54:11PM +0200 Peter Zijlstra wrote:
> Make sure the entire for loop has stop_cpus_in_progress set.
>
> Cc: Valentin Schneider <valentin.schneider@arm.com>
> Cc: Aaron Lu <aaron.lwe@gmail.com>
> Cc: keescook@chromium.org
> Cc: mingo@kernel.org
> Cc: Pawan Gupta <pawan.kumar.gupta@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Phil Auld <pauld@redhat.com>
> Cc: torvalds@linux-foundation.org
> Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: fweisbec@gmail.com
> Cc: subhra.mazumdar@oracle.com
> Cc: tglx@linutronix.de
> Cc: Julien Desfossez <jdesfossez@digitalocean.com>
> Cc: pjt@google.com
> Cc: Nishanth Aravamudan <naravamudan@digitalocean.com>
> Cc: Aubrey Li <aubrey.intel@gmail.com>
> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
> Cc: kerrnel@google.com
> Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
> Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/0fd8fd4b99b9b9aa88d8b2dff897f7fd0d88f72c.1559129225.git.vpillai@digitalocean.com
> ---
> kernel/stop_machine.c | 2 ++
> 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+)
>
> --- a/kernel/stop_machine.c
> +++ b/kernel/stop_machine.c
> @@ -383,6 +383,7 @@ static bool queue_stop_cpus_work(const s
> */
> preempt_disable();
> stop_cpus_in_progress = true;
> + barrier();
> for_each_cpu(cpu, cpumask) {
> work = &per_cpu(cpu_stopper.stop_work, cpu);
> work->fn = fn;
> @@ -391,6 +392,7 @@ static bool queue_stop_cpus_work(const s
> if (cpu_stop_queue_work(cpu, work))
> queued = true;
> }
> + barrier();
> stop_cpus_in_progress = false;
> preempt_enable();
>
>
>

This looks good.

Reviewed-by: Phil Auld <pauld@redhat.com>


--

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-07-30 15:18    [W:0.183 / U:4.016 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site