lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jul]   [26]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 5.2 51/85] mm/slab_common.c: work around clang bug #42570
Date
From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>

[ Upstream commit a07057dce2823e10d64a2b73cefbf09d8645efe9 ]

Clang gets rather confused about two variables in the same special
section when one of them is not initialized, leading to an assembler
warning later:

/tmp/slab_common-18f869.s: Assembler messages:
/tmp/slab_common-18f869.s:7526: Warning: ignoring changed section attributes for .data..ro_after_init

Adding an initialization to kmalloc_caches is rather silly here
but does avoid the issue.

Link: https://bugs.llvm.org/show_bug.cgi?id=42570
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190712090455.266021-1-arnd@arndb.de
Signed-off-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Acked-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@kernel.org>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
Cc: Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com>
Cc: Shakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com>
Cc: Vladimir Davydov <vdavydov.dev@gmail.com>
Cc: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
mm/slab_common.c | 3 ++-
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/mm/slab_common.c b/mm/slab_common.c
index 58251ba63e4a..cbd3411f644e 100644
--- a/mm/slab_common.c
+++ b/mm/slab_common.c
@@ -1003,7 +1003,8 @@ struct kmem_cache *__init create_kmalloc_cache(const char *name,
}

struct kmem_cache *
-kmalloc_caches[NR_KMALLOC_TYPES][KMALLOC_SHIFT_HIGH + 1] __ro_after_init;
+kmalloc_caches[NR_KMALLOC_TYPES][KMALLOC_SHIFT_HIGH + 1] __ro_after_init =
+{ /* initialization for https://bugs.llvm.org/show_bug.cgi?id=42570 */ };
EXPORT_SYMBOL(kmalloc_caches);

/*
--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-07-26 15:41    [W:0.305 / U:6.668 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site