lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jul]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.19 225/271] perf/x86/amd/uncore: Do not set ThreadMask and SliceMask for non-L3 PMCs
Date
From: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>

commit 16f4641166b10e199f0d7b68c2c5f004fef0bda3 upstream.

The following commit:

d7cbbe49a930 ("perf/x86/amd/uncore: Set ThreadMask and SliceMask for L3 Cache perf events")

enables L3 PMC events for all threads and slices by writing 1's in
'ChL3PmcCfg' (L3 PMC PERF_CTL) register fields.

Those bitfields overlap with high order event select bits in the Data
Fabric PMC control register, however.

So when a user requests raw Data Fabric events (-e amd_df/event=0xYYY/),
the two highest order bits get inadvertently set, changing the counter
select to events that don't exist, and for which no counts are read.

This patch changes the logic to write the L3 masks only when dealing
with L3 PMC counters.

AMD Family 16h and below Northbridge (NB) counters were not affected.

Signed-off-by: Kim Phillips <kim.phillips@amd.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Gary Hook <Gary.Hook@amd.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Janakarajan Natarajan <Janakarajan.Natarajan@amd.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Martin Liska <mliska@suse.cz>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Pu Wen <puwen@hygon.cn>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Suravee Suthikulpanit <Suravee.Suthikulpanit@amd.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Vince Weaver <vincent.weaver@maine.edu>
Fixes: d7cbbe49a930 ("perf/x86/amd/uncore: Set ThreadMask and SliceMask for L3 Cache perf events")
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190628215906.4276-1-kim.phillips@amd.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
arch/x86/events/amd/uncore.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/arch/x86/events/amd/uncore.c
+++ b/arch/x86/events/amd/uncore.c
@@ -214,7 +214,7 @@ static int amd_uncore_event_init(struct
* SliceMask and ThreadMask need to be set for certain L3 events in
* Family 17h. For other events, the two fields do not affect the count.
*/
- if (l3_mask)
+ if (l3_mask && is_llc_event(event))
hwc->config |= (AMD64_L3_SLICE_MASK | AMD64_L3_THREAD_MASK);

if (event->cpu < 0)

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-07-25 07:50    [W:0.706 / U:30.784 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site