lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2019]   [Jul]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 4.4 38/53] acpi/arm64: ignore 5.1 FADTs that are reported as 5.0
Date
From: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>

[ Upstream commit 2af22f3ec3ca452f1e79b967f634708ff01ced8a ]

Some Qualcomm Snapdragon based laptops built to run Microsoft Windows
are clearly ACPI 5.1 based, given that that is the first ACPI revision
that supports ARM, and introduced the FADT 'arm_boot_flags' field,
which has a non-zero field on those systems.

So in these cases, infer from the ARM boot flags that the FADT must be
5.1 or later, and treat it as 5.1.

Acked-by: Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@arm.com>
Tested-by: Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>
Reviewed-by: Graeme Gregory <graeme.gregory@linaro.org>
Acked-by: Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@arm.com>
Acked-by: Hanjun Guo <guohanjun@huawei.com>
Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
arch/arm64/kernel/acpi.c | 10 +++++++---
1 file changed, 7 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/acpi.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/acpi.c
index d1ce8e2f98b9..4d0577d09681 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/kernel/acpi.c
+++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/acpi.c
@@ -141,10 +141,14 @@ static int __init acpi_fadt_sanity_check(void)
*/
if (table->revision < 5 ||
(table->revision == 5 && fadt->minor_revision < 1)) {
- pr_err("Unsupported FADT revision %d.%d, should be 5.1+\n",
+ pr_err(FW_BUG "Unsupported FADT revision %d.%d, should be 5.1+\n",
table->revision, fadt->minor_revision);
- ret = -EINVAL;
- goto out;
+
+ if (!fadt->arm_boot_flags) {
+ ret = -EINVAL;
+ goto out;
+ }
+ pr_err("FADT has ARM boot flags set, assuming 5.1\n");
}

if (!(fadt->flags & ACPI_FADT_HW_REDUCED)) {
--
2.20.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2019-07-15 17:45    [W:0.206 / U:54.360 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site